Abdominal aortic aneurysm screening

in #health7 years ago

Up until last Saturday (22nd July), I had only ever vaguely heard of abdominal aortic aneurysm or Triple A from watching medical dramas on TV.

According to the Wikipedia entry:

"Abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA or triple A) is a localized enlargement of the abdominal aorta such that the diameter is greater than 3 cm or more than 50% larger than normal diameter. They usually cause no symptoms except when ruptured. Occasionally, abdominal, back, or leg pain may occur. Large aneurysms can sometimes be felt by pushing on the abdomen. Rupture may result in pain in the abdomen or back, low blood pressure, or loss of consciousness, and often results in death."


Illustration Harvard Health Publications

It was while away at a music festival, that I received a text, reminding me that I had an appointment for a routine ultrasound scan for Friday 28th. I immediately thought (as you would) that they had got a wrong mobile number and that I would contact the local hospital upon my return home.

I was further surprised, upon returning home, to find a letter informing me, that being a male about to celebrate my 65th birthday, an appointment had been made for me to attend for a scan at my local hospital.

I queried the text before the letter situation and was informed that an error in the system had resulted in a number of people getting confirmation texts prior to their snail-mail "invitations".

I'll not go into the details, but after a couple of days being slightly worried as to whether the scan might reveal a potential problem, I am now relieved to say my abdominal aorta is perfectly normal. My wife said that it's great to establish that something about me is!

Anyway, I guess I feel slightly proud and priveliged that our health service, here in the UK, carries out health checks such as the triple A, bowel, cervical and breast cancer screening routinely and free of charge.

So, if or when you get a text out of the blue inviting you to attend such a screening event, take it seriously as it very likely not a mistake and these conditions are better diagnosed sooner than later.

Get more information about the UK Triple A screening programme.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64