You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My ketogenic lifestyle, or how I traded cake and cookies for mental clarity, better performance and consistent energy levels.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I allways hear mixed stories about people who are going keta. Personally I like carbs around training sessions. But only the slow carbs (sweet potato's, oatmeal, etc). It really helps me on intense training sessions!
No processed sugars offcourse but fruits I do eat, what about you? Do you eat fruits?

Liked, loved and will follow you!

Sort:  

Me too, usually the reviews are polarized into "it was so great it changed my life" and "it sucked so much that I cannot understand why anyone would put themselves through it", hehe...

However from some anecdotes I have read, many of those who underwent horrible experiences in keto usually didn't make it past the initial couple of weeks of adaptation, which means they just experienced the initial symptoms of carb withdrawal, but didn't get to experience the benefits of being fat adapted because they didn't keep it up long enough.

Many people find they perform better in training if they incorporate more carbs, true. For me, this is not the case: I don't lack explosiveness and find that I have much better endurance while in keto. I guess I am just one of those individuals for whom this diet works really well for their particular physiological makeup.

About fruits, I only eat berries since most other fruits contain too much sugar; I also eat tomatoes, avocados (great for fiber!) and olives on a regular basis.

Sorry for the mammoth response, and thanks a lot, @steemitbeta!

Haha that is a mommoth rsponse yeah ;)
Agreed about people not trying long enough! But I have to say it is so hard in this civilization to eat totally clean.. I try it with a lot of my clients but it is allways a long process to make people free from sugar addictions... Sugar is literally everywhere :P.
What kind of sports do you do I am curious about.. And also I wonder how your diet was befor you went keto.. did you allready eat healthy? Because eating lots of greens and less sugars give loads of health improvements to people even without going keta :).

I was always quite health-conscious regarding eating habits, and have experimented with many different diets. A few years ago I went vegetarian for two years, and then I took it further and became a vegan but that only lasted about six more months (I couldn't give up dairy, ha!). After that, I started reintroducing animal products in my diet.

However I always had a terrible sweet tooth and it was clear to me that I was a sugar addict (even if most of that sugar was coming from "healthy" sources), which gave me crazy mood swings and cravings. Hence, I decided to give keto a try and it finally got me rid of my addiction! (or at least made it a lot more manageable).

About sport, I practice martial arts, currently focusing on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (as you can see in some of my previous articles). It is one of the most demanding physical activities I have experienced, a combat match looks something like this:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63