Chicken Wings Broke my Heart

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Some years ago, while I was in med school, junk/fast food seemed like the best way to go. Burgers, shawarmas, cookies, cakes, hot dogs (until I found out the sausages were pork) and about 2 liters or more of Coke a day for fluids. Try not to Judge me because I know a lot of people are both disgusted and salivating right now.
photo-1457460866886-40ef8d4b42a0.jpg

I loved all those 'cause they tasted so ridiculously good plus the added benefit of not having to cook or bake them myself.
At the time, I thought using the time to cook to watch movies instead was a fantastic idea (crazy about movies; I think I spent more time watching movies than I did studying even as a medical student). It was all fun until I crossed paths with fried and grilled Chicken wings from a restaurant called Chicken Hut.
photo-1426869981800-95ebf51ce900.jpg

It was like meeting a ridiculously beautiful and excellently packaged lady...the kind every guy would want to be with. I couldn't control myself. I had to have her everyday and everywhere (class, kitchen, bedroom, restaurant). I would always take a cab to go pick her up. I'm still talking about Chicken wings here (for those their minds are wandering to a different direction).

It was awesome until I gained close to 25kg. I thought it was awesome gaining so much weight. People would be like "oh, I wish I could be like you, enjoy the way you do" but it actually made things worse. As a med student I knew the sudden and excessive weight gain would have negative effects on my heart, blood pressure and possibly blood sugar but I couldn't help myself or maybe I could but didn't want to.
photo-1475610003943-f778cd2c3a6a.jpg

I even started making orders for home deliveries.
All that junk and no exercise...then the hypertension came, the migraines, the chest pain and then visits to the Cardiologist. Lab tests started with elevated cholesterol levels, pre-diabetes level blood sugar, elevated uric acid and some abnormality in EKG. They increased my risk of a heart attack and stroke (especially the cholesterol), diabetes and other issues.
I had to let go of this my beautiful and attractive lover. It hurt so bad; tried to go back a couple of times but the stupid chicken wings was done with me. I was too fat and sick for her. I started working on myself. Avoided her and the rest of her clique (shawarma, burgers, coke, cookies, cakes). They were like this clique in secondary school consisting of extremely beautiful girls who you know would eventually get you in trouble. They would suck your pocket dry and leave you emotionally and physically devastated, draining all your energy and will to live. That's what Chicken wings and her clique did to me.
I worked hard and God willing I'm good. Lots of fruits, not a lot of chicken wings, exercise, weight loss and the resolution not to be caught in the lies and deceit which is the beauty of junk and overly greasy foods and God's grace.
photo-1497888329096-51c27beff665.jpg

That's how I got my heart back piecing it together gradually.

I do not claim ownership of any image present in this post.
Image sources:
Image 1: https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1457460866886-40ef8d4b42a0?auto=format&fit=crop&w=750&q=80
Image 2: https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1426869981800-95ebf51ce900?auto=format&fit=crop&w=750&q=80
Image 3: https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1475610003943-f778cd2c3a6a?dpr=2&auto=format&fit=crop&w=479&h=319&q=60&cs=tinysrgb
Image 4: https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1497888329096-51c27beff665?auto=format&fit=crop&w=751&q=80

Sort:  

@stanleyc-md you need to always sight were you copy your images from to avoid cheetah bot

Thanks a lot for the input. I've edited accordingly.

#life
TB Joshua : If you are in a hurry to get money, you will be in a hurry to spend it. Anything that starts dubiously will surely end dubiously.

What was your plan of action for reducing weight ? I'd love to hear that.

Considering my sedentary lifestyle, all I did was stop the junk food then switched to healthier food including a lot of fruits, walked to all my classes, also I realized I was eating food in large amounts so I toned it down a bit to regular sized meals. You would have to individualize...find out what's causing the weight gain and tackle accordingly. For me it was junk food and lack of any form of exercise (even strolling). I would be happy to discuss it more in details with you.

Alright. How do we accomplish that now?

You are making me hungry and pls follow @mayowadavid advise.
Also, We should always learn to stick to what we make us enjoy good health and not what we are enjoying that will make us loose ourself.
Hope everything is getting better.

I will like to use this opportunity to invite you to #promo-steem where you will be mentored on how to write good post for good rewards and attract curies to your post.
Link:https://discord.gg/5d5kGY
Hope to see you there.

@seyiodus.

Cool. Made the adjustments as suggested by @mayowadavid

Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to read it

Congratulations @stanleyc-md! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stanleyc-md to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thats so yummylicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35