I'm growing sprouties again! ♥

in #health6 years ago

I love growing sprouts!

I haven't got to do it in a long time, but I finally ordered some seeds and got started up again!

I picked clover and alfalfa seeds. They grow easily, make small, tasty sprouts, and are packed with nutrition!
I probably should have waited until I had older sprouts to take pictures of, but I was too excited, and had to share! ♥

day 3 alfalfa sprouts
P1050583.jpg

day 2 clover sprouts
P1050586.jpg

Ill have to update with more pictures and such.

Growing sprouts is super easy.
You just soak the seeds for 6-8 hours, (possibly longer if you have bigger seeds like lentils or beans).
Then you put them into your sprouter. I have a 4 tier stack-able one, but lots of people use mason jars.
Rinse them 2-3 times a day, and in about a week you will have healthy, delicious sprouts!
They are fantastic in salads, on sandwiches, mixed into soups, and however else you want to eat them!

If you've never tried sprouts, I highly recommend it! Its easy, fun and healthy! ♥

Makes a great homeschool activity too!

Thanks for reading!

DQmbj7aFc4KUTeZutepodkoLfk8RQpX8bmZR1UxNQmeJQ7X_1680x8400.pngDQmWanpr4tr3184ecNVLjHGyoLuS4zVRwgUBUbFzNWfq7Nq.pngDQmXncjfgxpSbXutHSRAPCjVUq7ddoA5SHsLPe7EoNrVfhC.png
badges courtesy of @daddykirbs

Logo-Black-Small-Banner.png

Sort:  

I get excited too! Once they sprout, do you keep them the fridge in the jar while you are enjoying them? I have only sprouted wheat berries for Rejuvelac. I am interested in sprouts to eat so this is perfect timing for me. Any special place you get or order your seeds, lentils or beans? Thank you :)

Growing stuff is so fun right?!
Yep, I like them cold and crunchy! Plus they last longer. :)
I ordered my sprouting seeds online through amazon, but if I wanted some sooner, they carry some sproutable organic grains at my local health food store.

I order ALOT thru Amazon. We are 30 minutes from town, with just a Food Lion. About an 1 hour 10 minutes to an Organic or Health Food store. Thank you for the extra info and I am glad you could translate my comment :)

sprouts are great, and are so easy to add to any meal (or just grab a quick handful for a snack!) - and we have the same 4-tier system.

So healthy and easy to grow and incorporate into pretty much any diet. :D

Man i had to double take on what I was reading. My eyes where only comprehending the photo that looked like maggots. I am so glad you are not sprouting maggots. You caught my eye! LOL
I also have never sprouted before.

Bah ha ha!! Sorry!
Yes, those pictures DO look a little weird/gross! I probably should have waited till I h ad some nice plushy green sprouts to take pictures of...
;)
Might want to give it a try! Sprouting is easy and super healthy. :D

I am not 100% sure, but I think you use the same sprouter that I use. I don't have any cabinet space to grow in for the ones that don't require light to sprout, so I use an old igloo ice chest. It also keep the house pets out of the sprouts (our cats love them). Where do you put yours that don't need light to sprout?

You probably do. Its one of the more popular cheap ones on amazon. ;)

I actually only have the one system now, but may get another , (or use jars), if we end up using a lot. I actually just grow them on the counter. (Ive got my cats trained to stay off! LOL) If I was going to put mine in a no-light area, I would also use a cooler. I dont have any spare cabinet space either!

I haven't made sprouts in a long time either, but your post inspired me! I'm going to get some seeds and start some up ASAP. I can taste them already! Mmmm... Thanks. 😊

Yay! Glad I could inspire you to start again!
Sprouts are awesome, and for some reason, I get all excited every time I grow something, including tiny little sprouts. ♥

Me too! I will post pics when I get my crop going. Probably next week. 😊

Cool! Cant wait to see them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29