Benefits of coffee!

in #health8 years ago

Are there benefits to drinking coffee?

Before I get to the benefits of why we drink coffee, lets start with reasons why someone should not drink coffee. For starters coffee, among other liquids, if consumed in large enough quantities such as 23 liters in a short amount of time can actually kill you, but this would even include water.

Cup of Coffee

Coffee can even be toxic, specially if the any of the beans have been over ripened. When coffee is toxic it can produce side affects of sickness, headaches, even just a general bad feeling. Sometimes drinking to much coffee or drinking coffee for those who have a caffeine sensitivity can cause insomnia or restlessness.

Women who are pregnant should be careful on how much coffee they drink, and try to limit themselves to one cup, since the baby is sensitive to caffeine. Kids should also avoid coffee as it can lead to them wetting the bed. I learned that people who have high cholesterol problems should also avoid drinking coffee, this is because the coffee contains two ingredients that appear to increase LDL. If you must drink coffee and you have high cholesterol filtered coffee is not as bad, however you would need to avoid French Press, espresso, Turkish coffee, or other forms that are not filtered.

Positives of drinking coffee

One of the biggest reasons why people drink coffee is that it helps them feel less tired by increasing the energy levels. Not to mention based on various controlled tests that have been done there is evidence that coffee improves some rain functions, including memory, mood, vigilance, energy levels, reaction times, as well as general cognitive function.

Running

People trying to lose weight, which I am not, coffee can help improve fat loss through the burning of fat. The fat burning benefits may be reduced for long term coffee drinkers. There are also several nutrients that are contained in the coffee beans that do make it into the final product, the cup of coffee. Some of these are Vitamin B2, B5, B3, as well as Manganese and Potassium.

Coffee drinkers seem to have a reduced risk of developing type 2 diabetes. Other possible benefits are reducing ones risk of Alzheimer, Dementia, Parkinson, lower risks for some types of cancers. Among other great benefits.

Ways to use coffee

After brewing that perfect cup of coffee you do not need to simply throw away the coffee grounds, there are many great things that you can still use the grounds for. Some plants such as roses which love acid you can simply mix the grounds in with dead grass or leaves, of course these coffee grounds can also be added to your compost pile they are considered a green, so remember not to add to many so that you do not offset the compost pile.

Plants

I just learned that mixing carrot seeds with dried coffee grounds adds a boost to your carrots from the start. Creating bigger and better, as well as the coffee grounds will deter pests from affecting your garden. Apparently coffee is also good at absorbing food odors, and can be used as a natural abrasive when cleaning in the kitchen.

Even more amazing I learned today that used coffee grounds can be used as beauty products. Adding used coffee grounds to an oil such as coconut oil can aid with exfoliation of dead skin, or mixed with water can aid in cellulite removal. They even make caffeine soap bars out of the used coffee grounds. A couple years ago my wife and I had tried to switch to a natural shampoo, but the problem we both faced was the residue that was left in our hair, so we switched back, I was surprised to find that these used coffee grounds can be used to remove that build up of residue that had been left in our hair.

Is coffee good for us

Based on what I have learned today, it seems as though there are far more positives than negatives to coffee. I will continue to drink coffee, and start finding new ways that I can reuse the old coffee grounds instead of throwing them out like I have been.

Conclusion

Thank you so much for having read this post. I hope you will also join me in finding new and better ways to reuse some of the things we use everyday. If you like this article please upvote, resteem and follow me.

Image Source 1, 2, 3

Sources 1, 2, 3, 4

Badges
Thanks to SteemVerify.com and @elyaque

Follow @smysullivan
Thanks to @papa-pepper for the last gif.

Sort:  

@smysullivan, it's my favorite beverage and I can live off it.

I agree, I drink it all day long.

@smysullivan, don't know what I would do. I get a pound a week from work and free americanos when i work. Like it black and strong

I used to need sugar and milk, then I was overseas in the Army, no milk no sugar and learned to love it black, now all I drink is black coffee.

I started black in the coast guard...coffee was there 24 hours a day.

I worked in the operations center for the Battalion Commander my job was to make the coffee for the morning shift. But I would finish a pot a night on my own.

Thank you, I had fun and learned somethings at the same time.

I hope you had some coffee too :)

Lol a pot a day, maybe two on my bad days.

I love the buzz coffe gives me.

I drink too much coffee so not much of a buzz, but I can not live with out it.

Not a big coffee drinker myself but interesting post

Well, that is still ok, my wife does not drink coffee. I am surprised by all the extra uses I am going to start getting out of my used coffee grounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81