Hey Slackers!!! I'm quitting cigarettes and holy crap is it hard!

in #health7 years ago (edited)

So, after #smoking for 18 years, literally half of my existence on this big old blue marble, I am making the conscious effort to #quitsmoking those damn cancer sticks. It's about time that I start to be mindful about my #health and stick to it this time around.

Isolated-shot-of-broken-cigarettes-on-white-background.jpg

I technically started #smoking when I was 16 years old, and like many folks out there, it was introduced to me by being around friends who were #smoking at that time. Crazy thing was that in the 1990s, it wasn't hard to ask someone who was old enough to buy a pack for you. I remember the first time that I #smoked a whole #cigarette and getting that light headed and speedy feeling, like it was a "high". I also remember one time in those early days of running to my friend's bathroom and #vomiting up a nasty, yellowish flem once as well.

But I was actually able to stop #smoking between the ages of 16 to 18, as I was playing #IceHockey for my High School ( #GoWolverines! ), and was never #tempted, nor #craved them during my time training and working out, even being around teammates who would fire one up after practice.

However, once I turned 18, was old enough to buy them on my own, and I was #performing in #rockbands at the time, I picked the #habit up, rather faithfully unfortunately.

There were times where I was able to quit, but for no more than a week and half to two weeks at most. I can remember both occasions from two extended #hospital stays, and I don't think the medical staff would appreciate anyone firing up in the bathrooms or in their beds in a hospital...

But I got to #quit. It's time. It's too #expensive, and I'm not getting any younger.

I am happy to report that as of this er...blogging... I went cold turkey and haven't had a drag in 3 weeks now. The #cravings are still there, both #physically and #mentally, especially after I have a nice hot cup of #tea. The #caffeine in my #blacktea offers a bit of a #trigger as a #cigarette and a travel mug of tea was my morning routine.

I haven't had any of the #coughing fits, which has come as a bit of a surprise to my friends who have also #quit, nor has there been any of that nasty #tar needing to be cleared out after waking up in the morning. I'm even surprised by it because I became a #heavysmoker in the past few years, smoking up to a pack and a half a day.

On a #positive side though, #food tastes A LOT better, and I am start to regain a more, how can we say, defined sense of #smell back since I'm not crushing my #sinuses with hot smoke and burnt #chemicals in a frequent manner like I was. Plus, let's also be real, not spending upwards of $10 per pack is DEFINITELY a #noticeable improvement in the immediate short term #financially.

So my fellow #Steemers and #Slackers, I'm putting the #work in to make this a reality. To no longer be chained down to an addiction, and as my one friend called it, "Being #PhilipMorris' bitch". I'm going to try and blog about this, and share my #journey with you all. If you got some suggestions to help, I am definitely all ears. And maybe, we'll be #help some other folks out here along the way as well!

Thanks for reading, and talk to you soon!
-Pj

Sort:  

Keep up the good work! Chantix worked great for me and the dreams were awesome! Extremely vivid and fun. Going cold turkey is crazy and takes a lot of willpower. Congrats on making it 3 weeks! Keep up the good work and listen to this song whenever you want a drag.

Yoooo Thank you for jolting my memory with Atmosphere! A friend of mine so long ago had a few tracks on a mix tape that we'd wear out while hotboxing my car, riding around town. I wish I could remember the names of them... but looks like I got a youTube hole to investigate hahahaha!

And yeah, cold turkey man. That's how the other members of my family quit. I'm the last hold out from the 4 of us who did smoke during our lives. Figure it's time to join the cool kids club heehee.

Heard about those Chantrix dreams... I already got some crazy shit in my head, I think I'll pass hahaha

-Pj

Congratulations @slackeramericana! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @slackeramericana! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @slackeramericana! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @slackeramericana! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66552.75
ETH 3490.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64