HOW I SURVIVED A CRITICAL STAGE OF APPENDICITIS NINE YEARS AGO

in #health7 years ago

I remember that day clearly. It was nine years ago that the doctor told me that I had a little more than 24 hours to live.......

getty_rf_photo_of_surgery_in_progress.jpg

I had a relentless stomach ache for a couple of days leading to that faithful day nine years ago. Like always, I thought it was just a regular stomach ache and that if I endured for a day or two i'll be relieved. So i just continued with the medcine i was prescribed. I couldn't attend school and my days were colored dull. My parents were worried but I kept assuring them, that it will come to pass. Since everyone was busy with work and school during the day, I was lucky that my grandmom was around. I JUST WANT TO SAY I LOVE HER TOO BITS. She took care of me and pampered me throughout my illness, her presence was a blessing. My father decided to take me to the hospital because he couldn't stand it.

We enterd the clinic thinking it was just going to be a regular visit. A quick examination and prescription. Luckily, the sun was setting and the clinic was scanty. So we got attended to quickly. After we shared greetings with the doctor, he could see the pain i was going through and immediately asked me to lie on the bed. The pain worsened and I couldn't bare it anymore. My father gave the doctor a quick explanation and the doctor started examining me. Upon pressing the lower right side of my abdomen, I practically flew off the bed. On another attempt, I had the same reaction.

The doctor then gave my father the shocking new. He said that if I don't have a surgery in less than 24 hours, the result could be fatal....

It was not so for most appendix cases. But mine was left to mature and wasn't monitored. I was in shock and it took time for me to fully process it. My father entered panick mode and was also shocked. And the worst part of it was that the clinic didn't do surgreries. So it was up to my father to find a hospital. He immediately rung up my mom to meet us on the way to a nearby hospital. I couldn't remember all the details. I was shocked. And the only thing I knew about surgeries were from movies. And in movies, most surgeries were complicated, unsuccessful and dangerous. I believed that success rate of a surgery was very very low. I believed that that day was my last. Looking back at it, I can only smile and chuckle Coz I even became dramatic and started wishing even nature goodbye. I was terrified. It was terrifying.

After bouncing from a hospital to another and getting rejected for reasons I couldn't remember. I vaguely remmeber my Dad almost entering a fight with a doctor who even refused to examine me for some reason or another. Then out of nowhere, a miracle happened. We were lucky to meet an old friend of my dad who was with his wife at the hospital because she had an asthma attack. After informing his wife, he immediately took us to a Hospital not to far named FEREPROD MEDICAL CENTRE . I will never forget that hospital. My mom later gave birth to my younger brother there ((:

After quick preparations, I was ready on the operation table and being rolled to the theatre with my parents beside me. And the last thing I remmeber before I blacked out was the doctor making small talk. Something about colors.......

I woke up hours later with my mom sitting next to me. And I was alive and thankful. I remember a bunch of friends coming to visit me. I got too emotional and cried like a baby. And till this day, they make fun of me. It's still really embarassing. I spent a week in the hospital after that because some fluids had to be removed from my body.

I'm always thankful to my parents for their care, support and prayers. And everyone who showed love and care, i'll always be thankful

THANK YOU FOR READING

Sort:  

Alhamdulillah for the gift of Life

AlhamduliLlah bro

I literally started crying. Thank God he kept you alive becos if not i wouldnt have met u😂😂😂

Awwn.. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66547.84
ETH 3525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54