50% Physical: 50% Mental

in #health7 years ago

Real, long-lasting health is the aim of the game here, but, despite hopes of remission, any talk of a cure for rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is premature. This post is about finding mental strategies to cope with physical pain and an uncertain future.


Headspace - Meditation made simple

Studies have found that diets high in fish, olive oil, and vegetables can dramatically reduce the severity of RA and rheumatoid-like arthritis, and this has been my experience. But while pain is not something I generally have to deal with nowadays, I do still have the bloodstream biomarkers for RA - currently higher than they’ve ever been - so I’m not out of the woods yet. RA is not an easy diagnosis, and I’ve found it’s important to have some mental techniques for handling it better. Here are my top three:

Step Outside Yourself / Count Your Blessings


Sometimes it feels like life is passing us by. This can be especially true when pain is a regular and demanding visitor, and even with negligible pain I still find myself slipping behind walls in the mind, where gloomy thoughts lead to dark spaces.

Sometimes pain is completely overwhelming, and then the walls are naturally as tall as mountains. But other days, it’s possible to at least peek over the parapet. Whether it’s the sun warm against your skin, or a good talk with somebody you love, it’s important to vividly and meaningfully connect with the world outside, and really notice yourself in it.

With this in mind, I urge you to head over to the vlog Healing Josefine… Yes, physical pain can be all-consuming, but if today there’s room for other thoughts too, What Else is True?

Step Inside Yourself / Try Bite-sized Meditations


For me, this is about taking focussed time out to declutter the body’s attic. Meditation is something I’ve tried on-and-off, with varying degrees of success. At the moment, I’m using a meditation platform, called Headspace.

Rather than trying to force particular breathing patterns or a clear mind, which can feel oddly strenuous or fake, the Headspace approach - at least in the initial daily sessions of 10-minutes each - focusses on observation and natural rhythms.

The monthly and yearly subscription options are a bit pricey, but you can currently get the first year free if you sign up with the code, GSML1Y (redeem code). Your guide is a former monk who can juggle, so you’ll be in safe hands.

Wash Out an Old Jam Jar / Become Your Own Mentor


Sometimes we need a nudge to keep us moving forward. Inspiring yourself in this context is about seeing potential even if there are problems, which is easier or harder depending on your current mental state. For this reason, I keep a jar with rolled-up pieces of paper; These are breadcrumbs to better emotions that I leave myself in case the way grows dark.

Each paper has written on it a positive step I can take if not today then someday very soon. I can't unravel the next paper until I’ve completed the current item, which may be work-related or personal, vague or specific, but always manageable, e.g., ‘Ask for a pay rise’ or ‘Call someone you haven’t spoken to in a while’ or ‘Learn something new’ or ‘Go swimming outdoors’… If I enjoy doing it, and if it makes sense to do so, then the item goes back in the jar to be picked again another day.

I’d love to know what mental techniques others use?

Sort:  

I am dealing with RA or a close relative and use various natural approaches to free myself. Several months ago I had my stools analysed for bacterial composition; the findings indicated imbalances in the gut biome. I was also advised to heal a leaky gut.

Cutting a long story short I stopped eating grains, dairy, sugar and fruit to "starve" the bad bacteria. I eat lots of green vegetables and saturated fats; with small portions of eggs, fish or chicken, and I include some beef bone broth concentrate with every meal.

After all this the stiffness and pain continue and my last CRP reading was 81; much too high. I am not sure what is going on.

I try to maintain a positive mental outlook and have found inspiration in William Irvine's book, A Guide To The Good Life, The Ancient Art Of Stoic Joy. The Stoic's had some great ways to deal with adversity.

Congratulations @skiltoni! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @skiltoni! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55