You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The assault on children's minds

in #health7 years ago

I think it's hard to find the balance when we first start reacting. Personally, my childhood experience was gender fluid. I moved back and forth between feeling "male" and feeling "female" and I still do, although I identify as female. My parents did not allow for me to have any other experience. They told me it was religiously wrong. They believed, despite multiple cultures and examples to the contrary, that there are only two genders. I was told, "Boys are boys and girls are girls." I wish we could have looked beyond that binary. It caused me a lot of deep pain that turned into anxiety and self-loathing.

Knowing that makes me hope we can continue to make room for the kids that need to the room to discover how their gender is or isn't related to their bodies, as well as room for the cis kids who find pleasure in being part of the binary. In short, kids are beautiful. Let's meet them where they are and celebrate. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44