Ewwwww....What just came out of my mouth?!?!? Darn You.....dreaded FLU!!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health5 years ago (edited)

Being sick is terrible! I have had the flu for 2 weeks now and this is the first time I am actually feeling like my old self. I still have some congestion in my chest, which is causing me to cough. Plus I still can't hear completely out of my left ear. Is anyone else sick with the flu, cold, or any upper respiratory infection?

When I was at my worst I was coughing like there was no tomorrow, congestion in my head and chest, fevers on and off throughout the day, sore throat, body aches, loss of hearing in my ears.....especially the left (still do), and production of dark yellow brown mucus......Fun times! I'll say it again, being sick is absolutely terrible!

"What did you do to battle this beast that was attacking your body?!?!?", you ask.....Let me tell you my friend..

First, I did go to my primary care physician (PCP). To everyone out there, please don't hesitate to go see your family physician. They are amazing and can help you before your symptoms become worse prolonging the dreaded illness that plagues your life for what feels like an eternity.

So I saw the doctor and she had done a full check up.....listen to my heart, lungs, pretty much the whole 9 yards and listened to my ailments. With all the symptoms I told her and what she observed, I was prescribed an antibiotic...YAY for amoxicillin! Unfortunately I am unable to take Tamiflu.....sadly I am allergic to the medication that directly treats the flu....sad violin playing in the background.

She advised me to drink lots of fluids (water & tea with honey and lemon), Tylenol or any medication that will bring down my fever, gargle warm water with salt for the sore throat, lots of bed rest, and to eat a healthy diet. She also recommended a few different cough and congestion over-the-counter (OTC) medications to take. I decided to go with Mucinex cough+congestion liquid. Normally, in past experiences with the flu, I would be super sick for 2 weeks and then the symptoms would linger for about another week or 2.....so in total that is about 4 weeks till I fully recovered. Since I went to the doctor I was able to shed off at least 1 week of my symptoms. The wonders of modern day medicine!

Now I am able to ACTUALLY DO things!....YAY! Through all of this my hubsters has been the family's saving grace. Out of everyone in the family, he was the only one who was the healthiest of us all. As we were all coughing and hacking our lungs out, he was the one cooking, cleaning, catering to our every needs, and just being the best husband, son-in-law, and nephew to all of us. He literally was and still is our superhero!

I am excited and pumped to get back to working and just living a healthy and happy life! Thank you all to my fellow Steemians for your wonderful support as always! Love you guys!

<3 @shariloveurlife <3 Healthy Living - Happy Life <3
HLHL New Logo Est 2019.jpg

Sort:  

The dreaded flu ....

Your post has been sent to the promoted section of Steemit
because of your participation in our Followers Appreciation Promotion !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51