[2] My path to an improved health, intelligence and a happy life

in #health6 years ago

Since the last post, I didn’t really do anything productive. Or anything at all. I’ve been very sad and angry. Sad because I could go wherever I want or do whatever I want right now but… I don’t do anything. Why? Because I don’t really know what Iwant.

Which is something very troublesome in general, not knowing what you want. Luckily for me, I have the luxury to be able to just stay home and do nothing if I want to. Or try new things, or travel, and try to find out what I’m really looking for in life, what will make me happy. But most people don’t have that luxury and just have to go through life, one step at a time. But anyway let’s move on.


The rainbow flag

I’ve also been really angry at religions lately. Religions and some parts of some cultures. Angry at religions because they divide more than they unite, they destroy more than they create, and they break more than they fix. Inside families it makes people that are different feel rejected, it brings them only sadness and dark thoughts. I have friends that are not straight but they can’t tell it to their family. Why? Because it goes against the values of their family, inherited from their religion. And because of that, they are unhappy. Unhappy because they can’t be their true self with them. They have to hide their true nature behind a mask to not face the rejection of their own. I can of face the same situation in a way except that my family is way less religious so it’s more bearable. And the fact that I’m pansexual and not gay also help since I can just be open about my heterosexual relationships while hiding the rest, to make my mask more solid.

And I could write a full list of other things I dislike about religion. Like circumcision for example. This subject was brought to my attention because of this article. I didn’t really care before reading it, but then I did start questioning the practice (Spoiler: I was circumcised and uncut penises don’t look attractive in my eyes, but that’s another story). Mutilating children for no real medical benefits without their consent, why didn’t I raised my voice against it before? Because I was believing the lies spread by (mostly) religious communities and didn’t look for any hard and concrete evidence. And honestly, it’s not a very interesting topic anyway. It’s really harmful and really dangerous nowadays because it’s mostly done by surgeons but I do believe the practice should stop, and that we should let people make their own choices when they become adults. Thus for multiple reasons, one being that since it’s a religious ritual, it should be the choice of the individual because religion is something that should be a personal decision.

Regarding cultures now… It’s not one culture in particular that bothers me, it’s mostly some common traits around some cultures that do, which are: how they undervalue woman, the place of family which is sometimes higher than your own happiness, well being or financial situation, and also the concept of being disowned is such a big deal. The family deciding which guy a girl should marry is wrong on so many levels. First, because the person you marry, generally (in those culture at least) is the person you will spend the rest of your life with, so being with someone you love should be the most important. And second, how are you going to have children with that person if you’re not comfortable with them? Sex is an intimate moment. It can be very frustrating and really bad if you do have sexual relations with someone you don’t like or enjoy the presence. So parents deciding for their girl is at least wrong on that. The other thing is that it’s also against the freedom of those people. If your family make all your decisions until you’re married, what about your freedom? What about your happiness? Because once you get married you’re pretty much more restricted than before since you now have to deal with your partner life and schedule as well as your own. And if you were not happy about the wedding in the first place, living constantly with someone you don’t like might not help with your sadness…

I can’t really do anything about those, what I consider, problems in these cultures because I’m not part of them. But I do believe that people from the inside of the communities should step up. I know some of them think like me but, people have to act for things to change.

But let’s get back to the initial purpose of this series: Improving my health and intelligence which will, hopefully, help me in my path to happiness :)


In the last post, I told you guys that I was going to start a new book… I didn’t. Didn’t really do much actually. But let’s see the recap

Month 1: Conclusion

So the first month was good overall except atthe end where I didn’t read much and where I wasn’t that much productive either. But it was good. I did reduce my consumption of McDonald by half 📉 which is huge. And didn’t eat any other fast food so overall I may have cut my fast food consumption by more than 60-70%!

Reading was, I did accomplish my goal which was to finish my book. But I wasn’t able to find any motivation in the end to start the second one. But hopefully, it will be better in this second month.

Also regarding the device that I bought to monitor my sleep, and the number of steps I do each day, it did bring me some interesting data. For example, now I have proofs that I don’t walk enough during the day with an average of 1 000 steps per day for the period between the 20th to the 31st. Which is nothing since the recommended number of steps per day by I forgot who is 10 000 steps per day.

Month 2: One step at a time

Regarding this second month, I have few things that I want to accomplish. Besides the fact that I want to eat even less fast food this month (less or at least equal), I also want to take my trip in Italy as an occasion to learn how to cook. Since I will have the possibility to cook my own food I think it will be a good occasion for me to do so.

I will also try to do every week, 1 000 steps more per day than the average from the previous week until Ireach the recommended 10 000 steps per day. So it may take around 9 weeks for me to reach that.

Another thing I will do for sure is to get back to reading before sleeping. And keep monitoring my sleep until I gather enough interesting data. And I will also monitor my weight to check to have more data regarding my overall health. Hopefully, I will succeed in all those tasks 💪


To finish I would like to thanks the people that did correct me on my two previous article. I will try my best to do better 🙏 As always, contact me if you see any mistakes so I can correct them, and don’t hesitate to share your thoughts in the comments. And just be happy, dear stranger :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @seccour! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43