Eat the FULL Kiwi because...

in #health6 years ago

I'm sure many of you have been told, as I was, that eating the skin on fruit was good for you. I remember baking apple pies with my mom and just devouring all the apple peels because I was told it was nutritious, and it tasted good. I just found out that was also the case for kiwis so I wanted to share that information with you guys..

Apparently, you get three times more fiber intake if you eat the whole kiwi! Turns out kiwi skin is loaded with nutrients: loads of fiber and you will retain more vitamin C as well!

Also, a kiwi has more Vitamin C than an orange, so do yourself a favor, next time you want to do something good for yourself, eat an entire Kiwi

"One NLEA serving of kiwi (about 2 fruits) boasts 137.2 mg of vitamin C "
... where we usually require around 75mg-90mg per day
Source

Fact Check Me

Sort:  

And the skins are really not that bad, either! Adds a little fiber to that juicy ball of delicious kiwi

I’ve been putting them in smoothies lately and they blend great. Can’t tell the difference in taste but 3x more nutrients.

this is a good tip. I like apple skins so I'll try kiwi skins too. at least I know it won't hurt me now

It depends how you decide to eat It but in a shake it’s pretty much the same

I've always preferred eating the whole kiwi. It can be a waste trying to peel it. Plus like you said it's loaded with fiber.

So much less of a hassle!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @schulbz to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01