You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How well is your body connected to your mind? Take these tests to find out

in #health7 years ago

I think it does make sense. Neglecting our "softer" sides, ignoring feelings, never cry, never breathe properly etc ironically makes you weak. People can be trapped in what looks like strong bodies..but those bodies can have some very weak points. They are often more like shells. They can have a lot of tension and inflammations. They can't run, they're not flexible, bad circulation, and they are often not in touch with their breath nor their feelings.

Most people though are neither strong nor flexible or in touch with themselves. They are just weak physically AND mentally. Unfortunately we live in a society where we're not told the truth of how to live well.

In my opinion it is important to be strong. It is important to be tuff and to deal with the world. But how do you get there? How do you become strong? The strongest version of yourself. I believe it's through being an open person, someone who is not afraid (not even afraid of crying and displaying feelings), and someone who is connected with his body.

Thanks for your input! I'm not sure if what I said made any sense to YOU :)

Sort:  

You basically just translated what I said into something understandable ;)

People need to be vulnerable and malleable to progress.

In regards to 'how do you get there?' and 'how do you become strong' - I feel that sometimes strength is found in vulnerability, similarly to what you're saying - but also whilst keeping a strong mind.

For example when I have witnessed grown men cry, I don't see a feminine person - instead I see strength for allowing those feelings to flow.

Exactly. Allowing feelings, and not feeling shame. We all know the classic "trying to keep the tears in while at the movies" Which is OK I guess. It's a social thing. But when you do that when you're alone watching a movie..that's not good. Why can't you even display feelings to yourself? Why can't you allow yourself to have feelings?

I'm convinced that in order to become strong you must tolerate all aspects of yourself. If you're a walking shell, you can probably kick someones ass. But you're weak because you get so quickly aroused (not sexually..) and your adrenaline goes off too quickly. You have no control over your emotions. A strong person is someone who is composed and deals with issues. Someone who is in balance.

When someone approaches you agressively on the street, you should not immediately kick him in the face. Nor should you start crying and begging him to stop being aggressive. You should stay focused and composed and in control.

I think we're having a mutual understanding of what strength is my friend :)

Oh..and btw, just so that we're clear..I believe its a virtue to be strong. And with strong I even mean almost dangerous. We should be boarderline dangerous. Not weak and harmless. But it does not mean we should act on it. But have the ability to be if needed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46