You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zillions of Microbes in Kitchen Sponges and 'Cleaning' Them Doesn't Help

in #health7 years ago

We bleach our sponges every use. I'm sure that won't kill everything but for the time we have them it helps. I stand them up and let them dry between uses. I try to get new ones every week or so. We mostly use cloth rags that have also been washed and bleached more often. I prefer the rags anyway. We also use the wadded plastic scrubbers to break things free. They clean up fairly easy and don't hold the bacteria as easily. Great article.

Sort:  

I don't like to use bleach, as that is toxic and goes back to the environment and us. Have you tried something natural, like vinegar?

Well we do use vinegar on a few things here. My wife uses a solution of vinegar and dish soap which she sprays on the shower to help remove hard water. Maybe we should try using vinegar on sponges or just get rid of sponges all together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38