How to Yoga - PlanksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Good day, Steemians!


The way you do anything is the way you do everything. -- unknown


Sometimes I relish the infinite possibilities that lay before me,
and sometimes I obsess over my limitations.
I find that life is way easier when I'm aligned with potential!
I'm training myself to spend less mental energy on restrictions
and more in the undefined field of anythingness.
I've been most successful to view my blocks as opportunities
for success rather than cursing their existence -
isn't a block the perfect tool for climbing up and over anyway?
Still, I unconsciously fall back into old, dysfunctional ways;
it requires constant attention to check my head.
I'm so grateful for the chance to change and grow and evolve!
I would be so miserable if I had to remain the same miserable person
I was 1, 5, or 10 years ago for the rest of forever!
Thank god for #1 awareness of a better way, and #2 taking responsibility
for implementing that better way in my life!
Yoga is one of those things that makes everything better;
even when I'm not in a physical practice,
applying the tools from this discipline makes life easier and not
only bearable, but enjoyable.
I'm sharing this treasure here and now with genuine wishes for your
ultimate health and happiness - if I can make it out of darkness,
then truly anyone can!! Yoga is a priceless tool that improves
body, mind, and soul. I hope you enjoy becoming your best self!


This is Plank

AKA Kumbhakasana

(kumbhaka = breath retention, asana = pose/posture)


Plank is foundational.


Plank is part of every sun salutation
and vinyasa transition between poses,
and there are infinite opportunities for
perfecting and refining it.
A strong plank can hold a practice together -
it develops strength in the wrists, arms,
abdomen, and spine.

Plank is a great pose for self-inquiry!
Can you feel your posture habits in this pose?
Do you tend to collapse your shoulders? If so,
pull your shoulder blades together to open the chest in plank.
Do you tend to stand with your chest open already?
You may need to engage your abs and thighs more to support
your lower back.

This pose is all about the core, both
physically and existentially.
In a fruit, the core holds seeds,
those miraculous cells of potential life
that can blossom into a completely different form.

What seeds are you nurturing?

How to PLANK:

  • From forward fold, step or jump the feet to the back of the mat, feet hip distance apart.
  • Hands are directly under elbows which are right under the shoulders.
  • Press the hands evenly into the ground.
  • Draw the belly button up towards the spine.
  • Lift the tailbone, but not so high as to break the line from head to feet.
  • Activate the back of the legs.
  • Extend through the spine and crown of the head.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.



💛 Sara!
P.S. We offer hand painted Steemit gear through @steemrollin's honorable Peerhub Marketplace.

This is my little spot to record gratitude:
Thanks to @everlove for the photo! Thanks to @quinneaker for creating the @gardenofeden! Thanks to all my challenges, successes, and failures for making me me. Thanks for all my teachers for showing me another way to be. Thanks to @steemit for this revolutionary platform where we can all share our passions and change the world! 



Sort:  

Hi Sara, the quote `How you do anything is how you do everthing.' Is by Lester Levenson of the release techique. Great post!

Another brilliant post. I love doing yoga and life with you. Lets plank!

RS and UV for you.

Ha, I liked this, it was like in the week when I was joking with you about planking etc. I liked seeing this!

It's true, it will expose the weaknesses in anyone, it is a beaut.

Have a nice day Ms. Sara.

I hope you're having a fantastic day, Barry!

I won 2 contest for comments the last 2 days and I put it all into Steem Power pretty much, it was very exciting for me to have more than 10 Steem in my account! Very!

TY sister and have a good night. (:

It's great fun to start racking up Steem! The gamey aspect of stacking tokens in Steemit is just one more reason I think it's far superior to other social media sites, and I won't go back to them!

I have spent more time on FB the last week messaging with you and a couple others, than posting there anymore, it is Lame-Book lol

I only use FB to promote Steemit posts :)

I didn't know planking is part of yoga. :-)

It's all yoga :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62