How to Yoga - Cow Face Pose

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!

"My witness is the empty sky." -- Jack Kerouac


There's talk of integrity in my community today,
so I'll continue the discussion here.
To me, integrity means doing what you know to be
moral and honorable even if no one is watching.
It's a choice to live up to a code or standard you hold for yourself.
I am blessed beyond measure to have
an unwavering example set for me,
and I try to live up to it because it makes me feel good!
It's cool to be all ethical and righteous and shit,
but to be quite honest, I'm motivated by the selfish incentive
that I like the way it feels.
I like the satisfaction of doing my best.
A lack of integrity is the same as dishonesty for me;
I prefer people can count on me to uphold agreements.
I like the way truth and honor and valor feel.
I've seen some dramatics play out around here, Steemit,
and it's not my favorite part of this platform.
I see it, and I choose not to partake.
Diving in or calling it out might be the right choice for some,
but I'll just hold space for values to shine through.
I'm giving thanks for more and more opportunities to
check myself and get my mind correct.
Yoga is a great way to practice integrity,
so I'll just keep on keeping on and share a
sweet, helpful way with you.


This is Cow Face Pose

AKA Forward Fold over Stacked Knees

AKA Gomukhasana in Sanskrit

(go = cow, mukha = face, asana = pose/posture)

This makes sitting more comfortable.


I'm told this pose is so named because if you look down,
the knees form the nose,
and the feet form the ears of a cow.
Use your imagination!

This stretches the ankles, hips and thighs,
and is a great move for chronic knee pain.
With arm variations it can hit the
shoulders, armpits and triceps, and chest too.
It can correct posture
and decompresses the low spine. 

I mostly focus on the legs when I practice this pose,
because my shoulders are relatively open
but my hips are super tight.
That's part of practicing integrity in yoga:
knowing what your body needs today
and giving it to it. 
Check in every day, and take the modifications
that are appropriate for your here and now. 


How to COW FACE POSE:

  • From seated with legs extended, draw the left foot towards the right sit bone.
  • Right leg crosses over, with knees stacked and right foot towards left sit bone.
  • Inhale length to the upper body.
  • Exhale and fold forward.
  • I like to press on my feet, but there are many variations of this pose: you can also raise the right arm, bend it, and place the right hand between the shoulder blades. Left arm comes around, bends, and the hands meet. You can use a strap here if the hands don't meet.  This is super duper for opening the shoulders!
  • Sit on a folded blanket if the sit bones aren't resting on the floor and knees have a hard time stacking. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.



💛  Sara!
We make custom Steemit gear!
Thank you @everlove for the lovely photography (super stoked to play with you in Amsterdam!!),
and thank you @quinneaker for living YOGA and showing me a better way! 


>:<>:<>:<>:<

You can still get a ticket for STEEMFEST! Reserve your spot in Yoga!

Thank you @quinneaker & @roelandp for making my dream to teach at STEEMFEST a reality! Check it out Sunday, November 13th at 8:30 am!

Sort:  

What a neat name for this pose! Im going to do this one now. Om

love this pose...i too have tight hips and soaz and this pose does wonders but I often forget to do it enough, thanks for reminding me of it!

You're welcome! When I'm stressed or tense, it goes right to my hips, so hip openers are staples for me. It's really incredible how much energetic gunk gets store physically in the body.

Hey @saramiller,

I enjoy the way you write in your posts .. it is so poetic, free and expressive :)

I wholeheartedly agree that your emphasis on integrity is an important part of Yoga practice and in life (and we can make those 2 things the same if we fully commit, right?)

In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali teaches us about the 8 limbs of Yoga - a broad approach to practising Yoga as a practical life philosophy.

The first of the 8 limbs is the 'Yamas' - which are an short set of ethical codes detailing a Yogic way of approaching daily life and our interactions with others and with the world.

The 3rd of the 5 Yamas is asteya - which can be translated as 'integrity'.

Patanjali suggests that a Yogi(ni) cannot progress on his/her spiritual path without a solid ethical/Yama foundation (and so 'integrity') established in their daily life.

I have written a brief intro to the Yoga Sutras here. I'll be building on this in the future.

Keep up the good inspiring work!
Let's us Yogis work together to promote the wonders of practice!

Love & Peace & Freedom.

Yay, YOGA! To Patanjali, I salute.
I too practice ashtanga, and I enjoy introducing the Western yogi to the depths of the practice rather than just asana. I interpret asteya to mean non-stealing, and of course integrity is foundational for not taking what isn't yours. Thanks for sharing your perspective!

Yay Yoga! Yay Patanjali! Yay 8 limbs!
:D

Yes indeed, so much more than the asana is available to help us to progress.
And so much more value than the simply physical - (which is valuable, sure, but there is so much more, right?).

Sanskrit translations are very interesting, are they not?
Not understanding the words myself without translations of others, I work to apply my own understanding and experience to the translations I read and apply broad interpretation to them.
You're absolutely right .. integrity requires non-stealing.

Best yogi wishes to you,
Namaste.

Love & Peace & Freedom.

It's amazing how differently people view integrity. Being honorable and accountable to the self is of utmost value. What will one do when no one is looking? There you will find the truth of a person. Thanks for sharing this awesome post @saramiller. Holding space for some yoga here with you today AND I'm going to do yoga with you at Steemfest!! Blessed am I!

Right, at the end of the day we have no one to face but ourselves. Thanks for your support! 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54