How to Yoga - Ahimsa (Non-Violence)

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians! 

I come in peace, and I come bearing yoga.

I practice ashtanga vinyasa, a style of yoga that uses 8 concepts as a framework for understanding and practicing enlightenment. The first limb is the YAMAS, of which there are 5; these are ethical vows, or codes for social conduct.  

The first yama - that is, the first step of the first step of ashtanga yoga -
is AHIMSA = non-violence/non-harming.
This is more fundamental than any posture; more basic even than the breath.

In theory, it makes total sense not to harm another. In real life, when tempers flare, it’s easy to forget. And what about your internal dialogue - are you using nice words towards yourself? Do you even think about that kind of thing?

There was a time in my life when I was violently angry, and I subconsciously chose partners to play my hatred out against. I didn't realize what I was doing, but hindsight is 20/20 as they say. Back then, I had no idea how nuts I was, and how detrimental this “normal” was to my desired life of light, love, and truth. I have since acknowledged that madness within myself, and I’m learning better tools to use the force.

Yoga is one such tool. It is through my yoga practice (and a few miracles and saints), that I came to recognize and reprogram my most harmful habit. I share the awakening I experienced after my last relationship crashed and burned in flames that led to my deepened understanding of AHIMSA:



This dude is my Adversary, and the struggle is real.

Time and again, he shows up to compete with me in conflict.
Time and again, I engage with him on that level.
Time and again, hatred leads to more hatred and violence leads to more violence.

Our battles are savage, thousands upon thousands of precious broken hearts
and so much blood...the carnage too great for my spirit sometimes.

Primal defense mechanisms activated, I attack perceived attack.
Motivated by pain, I am vicious. 
More powerful than the Incredible Hulk, I am Kali unleashed.  
Blinded by rage, I lash out and destroy...and my actions cause more suffering and unspeakable pain.

I perpetuate samsara--
and perpetuate samsara and perpetuate samsara and holy shit it's a trap it's a trap it's a trap!!

I can't do this anymore; I’m so tired.
I'm a grown-ass lady, and this Spy vs. Spy game
of complete annihilation takes too much energy to maintain.

So how do I change the game?...

...maybe I've been looking at him from a wonky angle…

While he may challenge me on the physical/mental/emotional plane--and I may take the bait again and again--
maybe he’s here to make me a spiritual ninja…

Maybe I can stop blaming him for being a shit and instead thank him for honing me as a weapon of love…
Maybe I can acknowledge the deep and nasty and scary pain he stirs up in me and get myself a healing instead of a fight…

Maybe my healing can bring healing to him too and amend the damage I've inflicted...

Maybe if I don’t size up to him in a warrior stance, then there will be no battle.

I have to admit that I was in dishonor acknowledging this formidable Foe, so attached to his form I was!  

It doesn't matter if he's an asshole, or that he “deserves” it--my  honor is independent of his. I demonstrate MY values through each choice. Each action demonstrates MY character. 

And motherfuck me if I didn't JUST swear to 
Stand. 
In. 
Love.

This is invincibility practice.
This is master training.
This is how to love the enemy.

To hurt him is to hurt me.

Like reaching the last level of Mike Tyson's Punch Out, I'm grateful to FINALLY be able to rise to my heights for the challenge.

May every casualty we've inflicted inspire lasting peace.

I’m so grateful we didn’t kill each other, dear one; I bow to you.



💛 Sara!


>:<>:<>:<

I will teach yoga at STEEMFEST! I kindly request upvotes, resteeming, tweeting, and Facebook sharing of my daily yoga posts to generate SBD so I can procure a plane ticket to Amsterdam!

Thank you for the support, encouragement, and assistance you have given me towards this goal, Steemit - I am grateful and inspired!

Sort:  

How exciting to teach at STEEMFEST!! Go Sara. :) maybe we can attend next year. Namaste

Thank you! I'm super stoked. I want all Steemians to be happy and healthy!

Thank you for inspiring me to make a yoga post on my own. I guess I probably will join the yoga class at Amsterdam.

Great!! I look forward to meeting you!

Great news! That you will teach yoga at #STEEMFEST!

Yes I am very excited!!

I love what you share @saramiller. Such a great perspective, well written, and I know your heart is in it. yoga=sara=life! I want to see you in Amsterdam!

Thank you! I will go to Amsterdam, and I think it will be so great to use SBD to get there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65