Ear Candling - does it really work?

in #health6 years ago

Ear candles are an ancient method of cleaning the ears from the Ayurvedic medical system. Some debate the efficacy of ear candling but today I discovered proof for myself.

An ear candle is a long hollow 'candle' made from canvas fabric that is lightly coated with beeswax. It has a tapered end that goes into your ear and an open end that you light on fire.

How it works is you take a paper plate and cut an X into the center. Put the candle through the hole in the plate and place the tapered end into your ear.

It's easiest to lay on your side and have someone light the candle and watch it as it slowly burns down. Keep the end in your ear securely in the ear canal and let it burns until there's about 2-4inches of candle left.

Once it's burned down low remove it and blow it out. Now here the fascinating part!
Once the candle is completely out gently peel it open and behold what just came out of your ear!

I know, it's horrifying....

Some say that the stuff inside the candle at the end isn't from inside your ear. So here's what I did to find out the truth. I sacrificed a candle and burned it without putting it in my ear.

Once it was burned down I expected to open it and see at least something inside. However it was clean as clean can be! It was shocking!

So I decided to use the last candle on my right ear because even after doing one in each ear already, I still felt slightly stuffy on the right side.

To my surprise a bunch more came out! There's a noticeable difference after doing the candles. Sounds are much more clear and it takes away that muffled stuffy feeling that can happen after flying.

Even if you have no symptoms or problems with your ears it's still a good practice to keep them clean and clear. I'm sure it's like anything else, don't do it in excess.

Sorry this was a gross post but for anyone out there who is suffering from blocked ears or ear infections, this can be a lifesaver!

Thanks for reading! Let me know if any of you try it and how it works out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39