How to make tooth paste, mouth wash & hair growth tonic with just 3 ingredients

in #health6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0603.jpg

We all know that toothpaste has fluoride in it right? But how many of us actually do something about it? The solution is way simpler than you might imagine and if you are mixing up a batch of tooth paste it is very easy to mix up the other products while you are at it. How do you like my little presentation shot above? This is a batch I prepared yesterday.

No matter the product we choose to use, creating our own natural version of it is always the best way and there is one ingredient in particular which seems to come up time and time again.

coconutoilmemeresized.jpg

The 3 magic ingredients

You guessed it... Coconut oil (cold pressed organic)
Sodium Bicarbonate
Peppermint essential oil

The first thing to do is leave your coconut oil in a bowl of hot water if it is not already a liquid. It won't mix well as a solid.

The tubs I have used hold 130g of baby food and I have filled them around two thirds of the way. So, am estimating around 80g of coconut oil went in each.

Tooth paste

First we add around 10 to 15 drops of peppermint oil.

Then add the bicarb. Some people recommend a 50/50 mix while others suggest adding a smaller amount of bicarb. I prefer the 50/50 mix despite its salty flavour.

Mix the ingredients thoroughly and that's it!

Can be used as a mouth wash too.

My three year old loves this tooth paste and is always excited to use it. I think this is especially true because both the kids were involved in the creation process. Here I am showing them the peppermint drops :)

drops.jpg

Mouth wash

In truth what I mean by mouth wash is flavoured Oil Pulling.

All you have to do is add 10 drops of peppermint oil to the liquid coconut oil and you will get the added benefit fresh breath after your oil pulling session.

I tend to get this done in the mornings (gently swilling for 15mins) and more than anything I am growing conscious that it is very refreshing (in a busy household) to put yourself in a position where you cannot speak. These 15mins are important to me now.

Oil pulling has multiple benefits the first of which is its ability to pull toxins not just from your mouth but from your whole body.

Once you are done with your 15mins it is always a good idea to clean the excess (toxin filled) oil from your mouth. This can be done with the tooth paste you just created. The bicard will do the cleaning if you swill in your mouth for just 30 seconds.

And you will still have that peppermint breath when you are done :)

20160107_103008_aigdggg_sm.jpg

Hair growth tonic

Many claim that coconut oil combined with certain essential oils has done wonders for their hair.

It is made using exactly the same mix as the mouth wash but I keep it in a separate tub to avoid getting hairs in my mouth.

Rosemary essential oil is also said to be good for the scalp and by default, good for hair growth. I actually made two hair tonic tubs in the end. One with peppermint and one with rosemary.

I've been using these every few days for the last 3 weeks and I am starting to get a few spots on my scalp which I believe may relate to the coconut oil. Perhaps because I've not been washing the oil out of my hair enough?

I suspect it is also because I am massing my scalp regularly at the moment with this brush.

I am doing this to encourage hair growth in the areas where I am receding. And it is working very well so far. If you want to know all the details about how I am re-growing my hair, check my post here.

My gut feeling is telling me that I don't need to put any thing at all in my hair and will consequently stop using the hair tonic. As is usually the way in nature, assuming that the body is healthy, the hair will look after itself.

s8qxo.jpg

There are so many of these coconut memes! I had no idea.

I will be looking into re-mineralising tooth powders in the coming weeks. My teeth could do with some re-mineralising love

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

old banner.jpg

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

Sam is the creator of:

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

Coconut oil is a winner. I keep a huge jar in the shower for washing and moisturizing and oil pulling! It's the only thing that works on cracked dry feet!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree @riverflows! I use coconut oil every day for dental, we do oil pulling as well! and moisture needs ...although my dogs won't stop licking my legs so it is a bit annoying. :)

I know it's a bit 'out there' but if you are looking to moisturise your skin, your own urine is the best thing ever. First pee of the day is the most effective. Leave on till dry and then wash off. Have been doing this the last three days and I seriously cannot believe how smooth my hands and face are! Am currently putting a big post together on this subject ;)

I am learning so much about the power of urine. I am not quite ready to take that leap but it makes so much sense when you start reading about it all! I'll keep reading and keep my mind open! thanks for sharing - I really didn't know about the benefits it could offer the skin.

Amniotic fluid is mostly urine. This is why babies have such soft skin ;)

Hey there! It really is a winner hey and feels like the most used tub in our house.

Thanks for the vote :)

...and thanks too for your pointer towards @eco-alex & @aware007. I have read their posts and feel like I have some good info to add...

I'll look forward to it, but I'll never moisturize with it! ;) xx

Posted using Partiko Android

great blog its totally informative and amazing now i'm also gonna make my own natural tooth paste thank you for sharing this lovely article with us :))

Enjoy the results! I really love this stuff :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72