I suffer from seborheaic dermatitis and use an inexpensive remedy to treat it.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Seborrhea Is a skin condition that in my case affects my scalp and face(particularly in my eyebrows, mustache, and beard area). It manifests itself as a red irritating and sometimes itchy rash. It is very similar to psoriasis. For the longest time I would treat the flare ups with Hydro cortisone. This treatment would last a couple days, then the flare ups would reoccur. So a few years ago I decided to try something a little different. I was using Head & Shoulders shampoo for my hair regularly and aside from an occasional flare up I did not have problems with my scalp.
20180508_094547.jpg
So I decided to try using it as a facial soap as well. I would apply it to my hair and face and let it set as I washed the rest of my body while showering. I would then rinse it off as the last thing. Since that time, I have had next to no problems except for a minor flare up, maybe once or twice in a year. In those cases, I've used the Scalpicin. I've tried experimenting with other shampoos and even Extra Strength Head & Shoulders. None worked. The flare ups would soon come back. I have recommended this treatment to several friends and those that have tried it have had amazing results. Recently, I noticed another friend was experiencing a flare up on his face and hands. He said he has Psoriasis. I recommended this treatment to him. It's been a couple weeks and he says the flare ups are gone. While I recommend Scalpicin for the flare ups, if you're experiencing dry flaking skin as well you might try a Hydro cortisone cream as well. Now I can't say this will work for everyone, but if you're experiencing this problem and have thrown away money to doctor's treatments like I did, it might be worth a try.

Sort:  

Yes this absolutely worked for me. Head and Shoulders semi regularly and then use the Scalpicin very occasionally, only when I see redness. It's a good, inexpensive cure for me to a problem of many years!

I also suffer and find that the best way to control is to clean my face with a selenium sulphide based shampoo such as selsun.

https://www.medicines.org.uk/emc/product/4323/pil

For me, it worked better than most of the head and shoulders brands.

I tried Selsun Blue with no success. I also tried salicilic acid products but was too sensitive to it. Thanks for the upvote and comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76