How to stop smokingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago

I didn't smoke as much as others may do. But there was a time where I smoked and I managed to stop. I slowly changed from cigarettes to swedish snus. But that's not what this post is about.

The sole reason for me to stop smoking was because I started reading about science and the future. Stuff that will be possible in some decades. Stuff that I won't be able to see if I die early. Every time I wanted to smoke a cigarette I thought about this. I still smoked my cigarette because it's a whole other story to put a cigarette back into the package. But I had this guilt. Everytime I smoked I felt guilty. It started immediately after the first draw. The feeling of smoke and death in my lungs. The shame and guilt that I wasn't able to stop myself. I always felt worse after smoking. But somehow my brain managed to delete this information about an hour after smoking so I did it again.

This went on for a while until I couldn't handle the guilt anymore. I started to use snus. I should've just stopped completely at this point. Sadly I was too scared of the monkey that'll keep me awake at night and talk to me about smoking all day. I still have daily struggles with nicotine but at least I'm not destroying my lungs with this option. Again, that's not what this post is about.

If you've tried lots of products which guarantee to make you stop smoking but it didn't help, you should try this approach. Read up on the recent science breakthroughs like CRISPR and stuff like that. It's mind blowing to see what we can already to with our DNA. The only problem at the moment are religious rules and the fact that the DNA is freaking long and complex. Another topic that I'd really like to see in the future is artificial intelligence and virtual reality. We're almost there with the VR technology but if we can connect this with real AI we'll be able to create whole universes where we can actually live in.

Maybe all those cool things won't happen but the reason that really made me stop smoking was the thought of dying right at the time when shits about to get real in this world.

Sort:  

Congratulations @roronoaz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @roronoaz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49