You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How REM Sleep Cycles Affect your Mind and Body

in #health7 years ago

Thanks for your reply and providing some more insight. From the research I've done, it would seem the reason we do best on 6-8 hours is because that is how long it takes for us to complete 3-4 cycles of stage 4-5 sleep, which are the only ones the body really uses to regenerate, commit information to memory, etc.

My own experiment with Polyphasic sleep seemed conclusive to this however only lasted about 2-3 weeks, as I found it near impossible to maintain while having an active and social life due to its strict requirements.

Sort:  

Thanks @rockstarmystic, you are correct about the sleep cycles and the brain connection. Yes being stuck in a room watching peoples sleep for 18 hours a day or more wasn't fun. So I totally get where you are coming from. You should do some writing on the topic, you seem to know your stuff. I can tell you can articulate things well. I just started to write and I am learning more and more everyday on the subject! It's not easy for me but I am doing the best I can while taking care of my husband who has cancer, and raising a young son and don't forget work! Some times its brutal.

Thanks, it's a great idea and I think I'll try writing a report on some of my experiments in bio-hacking (polyphasic sleep, raw foodism, etc) over the next few days!

It can definitely get overwhelming being in your situation but I have found that writing in itself can be so cathartic, so even on those days you feel like you don't have the time... especially on those days... write! Even if just for 5 minutes :)

I'm currently helping support my parents, my father suffering from Alzheimer, trying to be there to provide my mother with any help or respite she can get.

Life isn't always easy, but there's always a way through when you surround yourself with the right people. You're on the right path :)

Thanks for the kind words, and I am sorry to hear about your Mother. What you said about "there's always a way through when you surround yourself with the right people" is so true in life. Thanks for replying I followed you and look forward to your writings :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67405.50
ETH 3119.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73