You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Vaccinations Be Mandatory?

in #health7 years ago

Thank you for selecting me as the winner, I really appreciate it! I knew I was doing OK on the quantity component, but I'm happy the quality was deemed sufficient.

It seems that this week, I'll be more of a spectator of the discussion as I'm not really sure which side to take on this controversial issue. In my opinion, what makes the issue of mandatory vaccines difficult is striking a balance between individual rights and risk. We have the right to take a risk for ourselves and there are a lot of legal behaviors that actually put others at risk too (like driving). There are risks for both the individual and society when people don't get vaccinated while when you get vaccinated, you shoulder all the risk for the particular vaccination shot (as tiny as they are) while the risk for society becomes lower. I'm not sure I support placing this burden on individuals and I myself have skipped a number of supposedly mandatory shots (because I was a teenager that couldn't be bothered, not because I objected to the procedure). On the other hand, mandatory vaccination is the only practical way to get rid of some diseases that has been shown to work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55