Pre Workout PROTEIN Pancakes [Vegan]

in #health7 years ago

Hey all, I just got home, I'm hungry as hell and I have plenty more work to be done...and by work I mean training. So I figured I'd take this moment to share my favourite pre workout meal with you. I like to make this meal before any long steady sessions of swimming, cycling or running. You do not want to eat this before any high intensity exercise..for obvious reasons.

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 15.24.48.png
Serves 1 Ironman triathlete or 2 normal people.

Ingredients:

400ml/0.8 pt non dairy milk (I like to use soya milk)
450g/15oz self raising flour
2 table spoons organic cane sugar
2 scoops plant based protein (I like to use SunWorrior protein) (optional)
Sliced fruit of your choosing (I like to bananas because of the potassium content helping to prevent muscle cramping)

Method: Put the 400ml/0.8pt of non dairy milk into a bowl and add the 2 table spoons of organic cane sugar, whisk until the sugar has dissolved.

Gradually add the 450g/15oz of self raising flour to the milk and sugar and whisk thoroughly along with the 2 scoops of plant based protein (optional).

Pour the mixture into a non stick frying pan on a medium heat. When air bubbles appear across the uncooked side of the pancake then its time to FLIP.

Once they're all done you can add sliced up fruit and any other toppings of your choosing and enjoy! :)

When you've finished eating allow 20 minutes or so for it to settle if you plan on banging out some miles in the water, on the road or out on the trails to allow your glycogen stores some time to get topped up. On a side note I personally do not add any protein to my pancakes purely because my primary function as a triathlete/runner isn't to gain any extra muscle mass as such. But if you're a keen gym rat there's nothing stopping you! :D

Sort:  

These look very tasty!

Good prep for the training.

Anything sweet to keep the bonking or hitting the wall at bay!

Don't mean to rain on your parade, but Man, that looks more like a ton of depleted carbs and sugar to me! (and you might wanna go easy on the estrogen mimicking soy products too) - jus sayin!!!

how bout almond milk (easy to make in blender) , and there are some good high protein flour mixes that might serve you better than that white stuff ;)

Touche!!! I would never say no to almond milk. I best get my hands on some! :)

I wouldn't eat this meal on a regularly unless I'm riding at least 400km per week, purely because of the large sugar content. I'm not sure what you mean by depleted carbs? I'm not worried about oestrogen, there is a big misconception about soy products raising oestrogen levels in the body, but this just isn't true. But I appreciate your impute non the less! :) If you're not convinced you can check out this clinical studies if you like:

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19524224

Thanks - it's true I take a lot on board that feels intrinsically or instinctively true, but don't always follow the studies and the ever shifting landscape of what's "in" and what's "out".
What I do know is that any white flour and or sugar product that is denuded of it's integrity (fibre, mineral content, etc) hits the digestive system and metabolism hard eventually if not immediately - i.e. if not in your 20's or 30's, then definitely in your 50's!!!
Right - I guess I am gonna have to post a couple of my favourite almond milk recipes...!

These look like a great balance to my posts. Keep these coming

Looks like a real good and tasty carb reload!
Wouldn't do this more then once a week for sugar overload tho.

Wow, thanks for the recipe! They sound pretty delicious, I'll definitly try them! :D

If I may add an advice to your fine post - instead of processed protein powders you can use natural whole food sources that provide a range of health benefits compared to industrial supplements. Use almond or hazelnut flour instead which are cheap, healthy and excellent protein sources. They are basically a waste material remaining after process of cold-pressing nut-oil so the price is usually nice (be careful not to buy them overpriced in specialized shops). The protein content in those goes as high as 50 percent of high-quality proteins, paired with dietary fibers, some carbs for energy, a range of beneficial phytochemicals, and almost no fat (it's been pressed out). Please check my post on proteins in vegan diet. I'm following you with interest.

Thanks for the advice :) I'll be sure to check out your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83