Quick blog: Recognizing and Overcoming Food AddictionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Ask me anything you want about this... I'll answer any health questions in my spare time! :)

After a while of eating fruitarian, juice fasting, short-term water fasting, and dry fasting, I had entered a supreme state of health. I have also been able to detox my body more and more. Along with detoxing comes the inevitable cooked food cravings. However, I came across a way to overcome my food addictions.

The answer is to make mistakes. When you have mistakes, you still resume your goal to abstain from the harmful foods. Keep doing your goal... do not give up, no matter how many times things do not go according to plan. This was the secret to me overcoming cooked food cravings.

After about 5 months of eating raw vegan, the cooked foods slipped in accidentally. This caused major "relapses". With each relapse I learned more and more. For example, one day I ate french fries. There was a lot of pain. I ate french fries the next week... and more pain. When I had the urge to eat french fries, I also did not want to eat the fries! Why? Because now I had painful memories of eating french fries. In the past, I had wonderful memories of eating burgers and fries. Yes, wonderful memories. Lol.

And another time I had some veggie broth "pho" noodle soup--without the noodles. This was only the broth. I felt like I was going to hurl after I had the soup. There were so many harsh spices and isolated chemicals (excito-toxins), and the after taste was that of having a quart of CITY TAP WATER.

So I binged on all foods I liked and wanted. I did not binge on dairy and flesh because I have mentally overcome these things. At the time of writing this, I have been eating in the frugivorous manner for a few weeks. When cooked food addictions come up, my immediate thought is to have a bean burrito from Taco Bell (I used to be a fast food junkie), or Pho soup, or Chick-Fil-A french fries... and then my immediate second thought is how painful these experiences have been recently!

To overcome cooked foods: replace your pleasant memories with the updated experience of the negative consequences! If you binge on these bad foods, that is OK, as it will be part of your learning process.

Sort:  

I'm in the same boat brah

It's difficult. Finally i've gotten over it.... I had to use nuts and seeds to get over it!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33