Little-Known Rediscoveries and Thoughts on Food That Continue To Amaze MesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

♪Would The Real Paleo Please Stand Up, Please Stand Up♪!

link

Before we get started, did you know plants can see?!

Fad diets, why do they always come up short?!

Our relationship with our food goes far deeper than the few functions our culture recognizes. Our culture encourages us to look at our world (nature and our food) as if it is a machine, dead and lifeless. We tend to forget to remember that it is all alive, fluid, intelligent and conscious.

Western culture gives far too much recognition to macro nutrients (fat, sugar/carbs, protein) and have only recently begun to consider the micro-nutrients (vitamins, minerals, etc). Just because a food has "nutrients" in it, doesn't mean that our bodies can use them, this is called bioavailability. Not every calorie is created equal.

I have found that our dominant western culture doesn't recognize what I consider the most essential elements and relationships with our food. I'm going to start complex, but I will make it really simple at the end :)

Vital Energy

(chi, qi, prana, etc)

All of life, including plants contain life promoting energy, connected to the energy you feel when you bite on tin foil, or when we power a light with a potato. The moment we disconnect a plant from it's energy source (pick it) it begins to lose this energy and slowly become lifeless. This isn't some unnoticed phenomenon, our mouths can taste it (nothing compares to biting into a tree ripened fruit plucked straight from the earth), or greens in how they lose their vigor hours after being picked.
fruit.jpg

Microbiological Life

(fungi, bacteria, mitochondria, etc)

A single teaspoon (1 gram) of rich garden soil can hold up to one billion bacteria, several yards of fungal filaments, several thousand protozoa, and scores of nematodes. -Kathy Merrifield

Living (soil not sprayed with poison) soil contains an abundance of life! These other beings are not only for keeping healthy soil and plants they are essential for digesting and breaking down our food. They are also responsible for up to 30%(possibly more) of our gene expression! We're not just independent human cells, we're a symbiotic world of organisms (trillions of other living organisms, even outnumbering human cells operating this thing called a body!) We need to maintain a healthy diverse balance of these organisms in order to function optimally. This is where fermented(living) foods play such a vital role. If the food comes from healthy soil, the dirtier the better :) "eat dirt" is actually a healthy suggestion (if you have healthy dirt) :)
soil-food-web.jpg Link

Potential Hydrogen

(Commonly known as 'ph')

Maintaining a balanced to slightly alkaline ph is something our bodies are constantly striving to achieve. A detour from this balance can kill us. Consuming a high acid diet (this includes protein, which is an acid) wrecks havoc on our system as our bodies strive to maintain balance by pulling alkaline deposits (from bone, teeth, etc) to balance the system. Having a slightly alkaline diet is essential for proper function. PH.png link

Medicinal Quality

(Food as medicine)

Anything we eat is either curing dis-ease or bringing dis-ease. Consuming highly medicinal foods regularly ensures a healthy ecosystem and promotes proper balance. Nature has provided us powerful plants especially psychotropic and highly medicinal plants like flowers, leaves and fungi (virtually non-existent in our dominant diets) to cure ourselves of any ailments. Nature has provided us powerful medicine to be found virtually anywhere. Check out wild lettuce and dandelion as just two simple prolific examples of 'weeds' as medicine. All this without the chronic 'negative side effects' of western medicine. Best part, plant medicine is often accompanied by extremely positive/enjoyable effects! :)

Raw (living) vs Cooked (less living)

The majority of our food loses some of the functions mentioned above namely vital energy and biological life when heated past 42 C. Sometimes heating can change an alkaline food into an acid. Further, heating food past this temperature changes the molecular structure of many chemicals, decreasing their bioavailability and sometimes worse (like turning them into a toxin). Why do you think cooking food decreases/alters the flavour of our food so drastically? It's not just the flavor that we're diminishing/altering. I don't consume a fully raw diet, and some foods are healthier cooked (I'll explain a post later on this). However, getting regular raw foods in our diet will ensure we aren't missing out on these vital [enzymes].(http://www.healingdaily.com/detoxification-diet/enzymes.htm)!

Local Foods In Season

Eating foods in season, isn't just a hip thing to do, it's also the cheapest thing to do! Nature provides food for us that is best adapted for seasonal demands. Short example: The same organisms that cause the flu in humans are present around the plants that are in your environment, and these plants create medicine to protect themselves. So, by consuming the local plant, you consume medicine for your specific environments. (This is a highly simplified example, for more see or read 'The Secret Life of Plants') This expands to seasonal adaptations as well, where the plants growing in a particular season are better adapted for providing you optimal health, comfort and vitality for that season. This also ensures diversity in our diets throughout the year.
food in season.jpgLink

Complex Food Combinations

As a culture we have a created a paradox of eating, we have limited overall diet diversity, while simultaneously combining intensely diverse foods at meal time. Some foods should not be consumed at the same time (especially complex carbs and animal proteins) As each food category requires a unique stomach environment to digest the food. Sometimes these environments conflict resulting in 'indigestion'. Contrary to popular belief "protein farts" are not healthy nor normal. Our digestion process is much more complex than just in the gut, so even if we do not fully follow these rules we still partially digest most foods. This recommendation is to better fully digest our food gaining the most benefits from it.
food combine.jpg link

Eat The Rainbow

Metaphysical: Each color represents a vibrational frequency that corresponds to an energy portal (chakra) in our bodies. Physically speaking they are vibrating at different frequencies and these frequencies interact with our bodies and denote varied amounts of nutrients. So, simply it's important to get a good diversity to nourish our whole beings and imbibe ourselves with all the frequency patterns required and nutrition to thrive. Plus it tastes delicious and looks beautiful :)
food rainbow 3.jpg Link

Taste It All

Proving eating healthy is not boring :)

Many people have certain flavors they enjoy, whether it's sweet, umami, sour, astringent, pungent, bitter or salty. Each flavor has various chemical and energetic qualities that are required for balance. Ayurvedic and Chinese medicine often use flavors to determine healing qualities of foods. Often times we find we completely ignore a flavor category, this causes a imbalance as we're not receiving the nutrients associated with that flavour! tastes.webp link

Sound Complex?

Let's make this simple!

How did humanity evolve for hundreds of thousands of years before the advent of agriculture (relatively new invention) and industrial agriculture (intensely recent invention)? We walked around from singular (non-combining) food source to food source. Plucking food right off the tree/bush/vine and into our mouths, straight from the healthy soil into our bodies. For meat eaters, our ancestors didn't go on a hunt, just to come back and mash some seeds and bake bread to make a sandwich. They had a fire ceremony and ate the deer, alone! (Maybe after quickly gathering a few leaves and herbs for flavour and medicine.) Our food was Inevitably local, inevitably in season, inevitably high in qi (energetically alive, within a few hours of gathering), inevitably from healthy and diverse ecosystems. So, the only reason it's "complicated" today, is because our culture made it so!

This beautifully ties into intermittent fasting which has become a powerful health trend lately. (an upcoming post) Also something that occurred naturally before agriculture, as it may have been several hours to days between finding feasts!

Doing what we would have naturally done for millennia (before modern agriculture) is the best thing for us, what a coincidence! It's almost like we evolved this way... Simply eating food straight from earth when we found it and when we needed it, in as much diversity as all of nature provided!

So, why do fad diets not work? They're just not OG enough ;)

Good news is, the problem is a solution, in this case multiple solutions :) In my next post I'll explain why creating a cure for our diet woes will also cure our ecological and personal-economic ailments as well; and what I'm doing to grow this transition.

I hope this was able to help some of you along your journey! Until next time! Further, I'll be breaking this up and elaborating on each of these topics another time :)

Rieki

  • Dedicated to creating high-quality, detailed, original content!

Home gardening hacks, for those convinced to grow thier own food as I am:
Grow Food Not Lawns! Simple Hacks To a No-Cost Organic Food Paradise! (Part 1: From Grass to Mass-terpiece)
Grow Food Not Lawns! Simple Hacks To a No-Cost Organic Food Paradise! (Hack 2: Free Plants)
Grow Food Not Lawns! Simple Hacks To a No-Cost Organic Food Paradise! (Hack 3: Abracadabra From 1 to 24+)

HEARTsign.jpg

Sort:  

Got me hooked on the bioneers :D

Right, that conference is guaranteed to blow my mind at least once a year :) Have you even been?

Wow, a lot of great information here. We as a people have become so disconnected with our food. You have done a perfect job of explaining the way we should be looking at our food. Great job!

Thank you! I appreciate the kind words! You're a permaculturist so we are now immediately friends by tribal affiliation :) I look forward to seeing your stuff!

Its good to have friends!

Hey @Rieki it would be really cool if you could make separate posts for each of your points in a lot more detail! I would read it all! :)

Haha, Really? Well, I will certainly get around to it then! :)

great post dude! I made sure to submit you to curie, such an informative post deserves alot more attention xD

Thanks Sol! I'm new to steemit (two days) and I'm playing at putting up a lot more. Luckily writing has been my passion for quite a long time and I have a lot to pull from :) I'm really happy that you liked it and thank you for the 'submit to curie' (didn't even know that was a thing). :)

Eating foods in season is a bigger deal that we think. Our bodies adapted to consume that which is fresh and available at the time. To pull a plant from the ground, store and freeze it for a year is not how we biologically evolved. We can do it, because we have the knowledge and technology, but it's still not the idea way to consume.

Even meat tend to lose a lot of it's nutritional value the longer it is kept. MSM starts to deplete immediately and so little of it is left by the time a piece of meat reaches the table in modern western society.

You hit a lot of awesome points here. This was a great read!

Thank you!

Whenever I get into conversations with people about it, they always reply with how 'complicated' it all is. It's not complicated (complex maybe). But, it's as simple as it used to be, and will be again! Let's grow food not lawns :)

Absolutely! Thank you for adding to the decreasing bioavailability of meat as well. I lived in Africa for a while and the native peoples there when they eat meat it is from a kill they made that day. A few men would go out and get a kill, they shared it with the whole village. We look at them and say (well if they had a fridge they wouldn't have had to share it with the whole village).

There is a saying I read about there. It goes. "I store meat in the belly of my brother". This way they get fresh (healthy) meat whenever they eat it, as others from the tribe go and make kills :) Same work, higher quality. NO need for fridges :)

Great post. I love the information. Thanks @rieki.

You're welcome, I hope you were able to gain something from it! I'm still new to steem (2 days) just getting a hang of it here. I do a lot of writing and had a lot of material to share! I'm really excited about this platform; so, expect to see a lot more from me :)

Did you know that almost all of the points in your post are also covered by the traditional Ayurvedic way of eating from India? It's nice to see how well you researched this. Even in the famous documentary "No Impact Man," his wife joined him on only eating locally grown foods in season, and that combined with biking every day brought back her fertility because she became so much more healthy.

I'm vegetarian myself for a lot of different reasons, many of them being health-related. But I don't expect everyone to "jump on my boat." Right now I'm working on a mash-up of my favorite breakfast recipes, especially since many people have no idea what vegetarians eat for breakfast besides fruit, cereal or oatmeal -- but there's SO much more available! Check it out in a few days @joylovestowrite.

Just out of curiosity, what's your favorite breakfast? - veg. or not; doesn't matter. I love feedback!

Hey Joey! For sure! My whole point of this "complicated" post was to detail how simple it really is. Past cultures have been done it for millennia! It's definitely detailed in the vedas (to some degree). I like to keep it simple (simple and detailed :) ) I have been on essentially the diet described above (with my climate allowing me to get a full spectrum of nutrition without the need for meat) for over a year. I just don't find pleasure in eating meat anymore. I'll have to make an entire blog to detail all the benefits I've had :). I'm extremely dedicated to fitness and health so diet has been a key factor in influencing my potential.

As for breakfast. I go all over the place, sometimes it's just fruit (though I have found that I don't enjoy fruit anymore, I don't get the same sustained energy as I do with high fat breakfasts). This past week my breakfast has been First kombucha that I brew to be more on the vinegar side. Then a shake: soaked-chia, coconut oil, soaked-flaxseed, moringa leaf, cinnamon and greens from the garden (maybe a frangipani flower or two if they fell the night before)... I find this gives me the most sustained energy for my day. But, it's all an experiment and I love playing around with it. Let's definitely connect more, I'm interested to see your blog in a few days and we can explore this crazy food world together :)

Rieki

Hi Rieki, I posted my easy 3 vegetarian breakfast recipes today! Check them out and let me know what you think. Maybe you've got even better ones you want to share?

Sure, I'd love to! Coming on over!

Home-brewed Kombucha! Heaven. Yes, chia-seed shakes are awesome. I love to do different chia-seed puddings, & I recently discovered how you can even use chia seeds as an egg substitute in baking recipes too. Especially in hot weather, I feel like soaked chia seeds for breakfast keep me more hydrated. Wait until you see my latest favorite chia-seed pudding breakfast blend -- raw and delicious.

Oh, I guess you have already seen this one ;)

Chia pudding is the best!!! I keep it pretty basic though, so I would love to see some new ways to make it :) Bring on the awesomeness!

Welcome to the community Rieki! I'm new myself, having only joined a week ago. I see you're also interested in philosophy so you might wanna check out my page.

I've been interested in food for at least 2 years now. Doesn't mean I researched it very deeply though, but I got my basic bearings. I have a high respect for tradition. I'm a thorough skeptic so your references to 'chakra' and 'qi' and whatnot I interpret simply as metaphors for 'experiential knowledge'! For instance, when I found out about how grains + legumes make a complete protein, I was amazed at how our traditional dishes in Cyprus almost always combine those two; or if the legumes are separate, as in soups, then tradition dictates you should eat the soup together with bread. I'm guessing trial and error led our ancestors to those discoveries. I'm imagining a person eating the wrong diet failing to thrive, and since women did little else back then other than stay at home and cook and watch over their growing children, they had a lot of time to figure these things out.

That doesn't mean they were right about everything though! And where tradition clashes with modern science, that's where we're forced to make a choice.

One example from your article is your recommendations about food combinations. Recently I read the entire Nutrition Concepts and Controversies book, 13th edition. This is the stuff they teach future nutritionists in college. Solid science. And this is what they have to say about food combinations (you may right-click on the pic and click 'view image' if the type is too small):

comb.JPG

I'm not saying they can't be wrong: nutrition is a pretty young science. But what's your take on that?

Followed, btw! Looking forward to your future articles.

Hey Alexander! Thank you for such a thoughtful response! I'm in love with this place :) I will mention that I like to consider myself a skeptic too. So, lets see what makes the most sense. So many points to consider here. So, I'm going to just jump right in with my thoughts.

First, the article you showed contradicts itself. It mentioned that "the healthy (whatever that alludes to) digestive system can handle any combination with ease" yet it also mentions that "the pancreas will release carbohydrate-digesting enzymes within 24 hours, while reducing outputs of other types." I think the body is incredible at adjusting to just about any environment we give it (putting acute issues aside and resigning them to future chronic ailments). So, while I believe the digestive tract can to some degree digest what we put in it, I believe it requires more energy to do so and is not as effect at digesting and utilizing nutrients when ill-combined. I have had this proven time and time again to myself analyzing my own stools (I don't want to convince you with logic, as it didn't necessarily believe it until I started living it. Now my body screams at me whenever I mis-step. Maybe it's self-fulfilling or maybe my body is just more sensitive... Either way, I consider myself to be in the most optimal health of my entire life and couldn't be happier with my decision to follow this diet)

Second, I'm utilizing a limited language to convey and idea, so I use chi, qi, prana to allude to what I call 'vital energy' which can also be called 'motivation' 'drive' 'energy'. All of which are by-products of increasing this 'vital energy' in my life. I try to not romanticize past cultures. I do not believe the past held all the secrets. I do believe there is much wisdom to be found in ancient practices and knowledge to be pulled from. As a broad statement our culture is entirely more complex and complicated than my beliefs of past cultures. From this, I like to simplify my life and I have found that simplifying my diet has been a powerful catalyst for optimizing my potential in other aspects of my life. Also, I find plenty of fundamental flaws with the religion of 'science' ;) I'm glad you reached out Alex. I look forward to hearing from you and I'm positive (because I'm going to make it so) that we're going to have quite a bit of conversations!

In the meantime, I invite you to experiment on yourself. Go ahead and follow these guidelines for a few weeks and see how you feel! Either it doesn't do anything, or you're going to feel great. It's a win - win :)

That's a great reply Rieki!

I had that thought myself, while I was attaching the pic and re-reading it, that it kinda looked like it contradicted itself! Though I think that's more of a problem with the way it's articulated. But anyway, since you agree to some extent, no need to probe further.

I lift, so I eat 4 times a day, and I need to get enough protein and carbs etc., and I got it all organized, so I can't change my diet just like that! Plus I'm not feeling bad with the diet I'm following (roughly speaking, a kind of Michael Pollan diet let's say, or Nutritional Traditions diet), though I always try to improve. Thirdly, I live on an island that doesn't always have the latest when it comes to neoteric ingredients. A quick perusal of some of your recipes makes me think I'd be hard-pressed to find some of those ingredients here. I tend to think that the value of certain new 'fad' ingredients is exaggerated, for instance matcha powder or what not; I prefer to cook with simpler and local material.

I've been thinking of starting a series on food, of recipes basically, things I actually tried and that I eat regularly, with a table of all the vitamins and mineral amounts the recipe contains. Many people aren't getting enough iron or calcium etc., so I thought something like that, instead of just a recipe, will be useful. I tend to cook things that take less than 30 min to make, taste amazing (in my opinion), and are inexpensive. So that might draw an audience. And it would be nice if you could comment on what you think about those recipes, health-wise, to comment about whether or not they agree with the things you know.

Religion of science! :P That's an oxymoron! Granted science may be wrongly applied in certain cases, due to interests, political and otherwise, and that sometimes happens in nutrition, e.g. demonizing fat and all those things you surely already know. But beyond that, what are the 'fundamental flaws' you find with the scientific method per se?

Well, I going to need to go much deeper sometime to explain this "religion of science" I'll write something within a few days (maybe today...). But essentially the way science is treated today is EXACTLY the same dogmatic approach to religion the obscenely vast amounts of scientific data that is intentionally altered to support corporate or personal interests. The way people blindly (with no understanding or attempt to understand) believe (faith) in "scientific studies, and articles". Where you have to go through very rigid and dogmatic 'schooling' to become a priest (ahem, scientist). I'll explain how most masters and doctorate programs work this way, how much all 'alternative' (not supporting the scientific dogma) science gets pushed out regardless of it's findings. Again, I'll go into more detail and support these claims later, just a quick response on it. I was once religious (until I questioned and left around 16) then I fervently joined a new religion 'science' (hardcore atheist and what not) until I realized much of what 'science' was preaching was just as dogmatic and false as the religion I had left. (more on that later).

Scientific method (1 assumes no interference with location of where experiment takes place, nor interference with the experimenter herself). 2 (assumes no interference with WHEN an experiment were to take place, time of year, position of planet, etc) There are plenty of experiments with evidence suggesting that gravity of sun and moon and other celestial bodies affecting our human bodies (yet, science would like to see repeatable results). Assumes no effect of human consciousness and belief (which our more complete and less understood science of quantum physics recognizes) meaning what is the relation to the experimenter BELIEVING (FAITH) in an outcome of the experiment. Choosing to pick certain data points to support their outcome. Long story short, science is a nice idea. But, it is no more or less FACT than any religion. It is supported by a lot of dogma and a lot of belief without searching for answers. There are plenty of anecdotal evidence and stories of mainstream scientists turning their back on the religion of science because they saw through the veil of dogma. Again, I will take the time to properly cite and discuss my claims in a later post. However, do you find any clear fallacies in what I'm suggesting?

I would love to collaborate on any upcoming posts on food you have! I'm following you, but just go ahead and tag me on any and we can see what magic we can make :)

p.s. I completely agree that some 'fad' foods are oversold. I stick to what's local, readily available and economically viable (I grow my own 'fad' foods) ;)

I have a lifelong interest in science and the philosophy of science and I also studied it at uni, and all the points you bring up can only be answered superficially in the context of a steemit discussion unfortunately!

But roughly:

The whole first paragraph relates to how science is applied. If people twist science to fit their agendas, that's not the fault of the scientific method per se. When it comes to the method itself, it's the best method humans ever came up with regarding discovering the truth, a truth that can be publicly shared and demonstrated, instead of requiring 'faith'. Do you know of any better method? Something better to replace science with, that won't have all those issues you've brought up?

Also, about the 'schooling to become a priest' point - that seems to me to be a random superficial resemblance. I mean, if I send you papers from a discipline such as mathematics, will you be able to understand them? Of course you need to train to become a 'priest'. It's the same for football: you need to train. Do you think football is a religion? Well, I walked right into that one! But you get what I mean! You wouldn't trust me to build your house, or it would fall on your head! That doesn't make architecture a religion, nor the architect a priest. It just makes it a skill.

The things you say in your second paragraph, science not only acknowledges, but has actually discovered! Otherwise you wouldn't be mentioning it. And there's much else besides. Only recently I was discussing here on steemit the effect the time a person eats has on his behavior and decisions. This study shows how having lunch influences judges in their decisions in courts of law, that are supposed to be objective. Daniel Kahneman, who is responsible for this and many studies of this kind, showing human fallibility, has received the Nobel Prize for his work. Science awards this kind of work. Science has no interest in hiding these stuff, only in exposing it. Why? Because the moment science stops working, it loses its currency. The only reason you can be here on steemit is because of science. Without these practical results in every area of life, science loses its foothold, and religion comes back with a vengeance! Science either continues to show practical benefit, or it dies.

I have no doubt that you can comb the history of science and demonstrate many of the things you talked about, but I'm afraid you will be doing so at the expense of the big picture. I.e. you will be concentrating on the errors, rather than the successes of science. I mean, look around you! To me, it's emphatically evident that science is more factual than any religion. I would definitely choose a doctor over a shaman.

Btw if my style comes off as in any way aggressive, I apologize! It's just how I talk.

I'm off to bed now! :P

Loading...

Thanks for the good info . Nice job. I am learning and living pretty much inline with what you shared and it was good to hear.

Awesome! So, from you subjective perspective do you believe following these suggestions have had a positive impact on your life?

A healthy person is a balanced diet expert, just like this post is expert.

I completely agree! Balance is key :) Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64