Eating disorders: from wrong beliefs to dreadful habits

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I recently received a bullet in the heart: my youngest sister has started (without being conscious of it) to develop anorexic/bulimic patterns. Even though Bulimia and Anorexia are almost members of our family, it was like an electrical shock for me. I have suffered from bulimia for years now and my other sister has been quite unsuccessfully treated for anorexia; my mother and grandmother also had anorexia issues. It feels like a duty for me now to share what I have learnt from my personal experience at the very heart of eating disorders. Some researchers work on the the possibility of a genetic cause; but was I born like this? I don't think so. I believe I became bulimic because I was taught so. How did it happen? Here are some clues and perhaps the key to getting rid of eating disorders for good.


fig.1 Numbers on eating disorders (source)

Prejudice vs science

Eating disorders are as taboo as they are common: it is estimated that more than "30 million Americans suffer from [it] in their lifetime". Even though it is not a brand new disease (Freud wrote about it during the 19th century), it is still a medical mystery; doctors have a list of various causes, among which “social, psychological and biological” (Garner, D. M., Rockert, W., Olmsted, M. P., Johnson, C., & Coscina, D. V. (1985). Psychoeducational principles in the treatment of bulimia and anorexia nervosa. Handbook of psychotherapy for anorexia nervosa and bulimia, 513-514.). In other terms, nobody qualified can explain how one becomes victim of eating disorders. Nevertheless, some people who have almost never heard about it have their own hypothesis: one is anorexic/bulimic because he/she wants to be lean. I fought against this idea, during years, thinking it was much more to it than only this. Eating disorders had to have underlying causes, a trauma that couldn't be remembered of. Yet I was wrong. As a matter of fact, most of the prejudices about eating disorders are true: an anorexic deprives herself/himself of food to loose weight, and a bulimic only needs to stop bingeing & purging, to not be bulimic any longer. If the maths are so simple, why is it so hard to heal?

The condition has a very vicious establishment. It slowly turns from beliefs to habits, and therein lies the rub. Let's start with having a brief look at the Minnesota semi-starvation experiment: both physically and mentally healthy people were chosen for a large scale experiment. At first they received normal portions of normal food for some months, then the calorie intake was reduced. The experiment was exploring how the group would adapt to normal access to food after this semi-starvation period. They found that the participants developed a pathologic relationship to food during the experiment. Some would avoid the dining room when others would make dinner last by playing with food, and one even ate so much food once, that he needed an emergency stomach purge! This is typical bulimic behavior.

fig.2 Men starve in Minnesota (source)

Two brains coping with a merging problem

Kathryn Hansen, recovered bulimic and author of Brain over binge, explains what happens as such: your upper (or conscious) and lower (or subconscious) brain are in conflict, while both are trying to help you survive. This conflict is at the core of the binge & purge cycle- an evil dance between starvation and overeating. Basically, your subconscious will read the message of you being starving as a death threat and will start the binge. Meanwhile, your conscious brain, because of the wrong (and dangerous) belief that food is evil, will act on it through a purge (then you will either puke, fast, overexercise, or abuse laxatives). This is not where it stops–there is even more trouble: once you have repeated this pattern through time, the brain understands it as a process which would be necessary for survival. This is when it becomes a habit, no matter how it started. And if you have other “bad” habits- e.g. eating your nails, you might imagine how hard it becomes, passed this point, to get rid of an eating disorder.

Disordered eating habits or patterns, rather than being fed by a wrong emotional path, actually have  both cognitive and physical roots. My therapist noticed that the pattern was similar to an obsessive compulsive scheme. At some point in my life I merged with food. It became more important than anything else in life, so much so that I now think about it 24/7. An important step in the recovering process will be to break this symbiotic thought. Meanwhile, the body learns from what we teach it. For example, it knows exactly how high a step in a staircase should be; if you go up stairs which are a little bit too high or too small, you will inevitably have trouble going up. The body calls for what it is used to. For eating disorders, it's the same: I taught my body that a certain quantity of food of a certain quality is unacceptable and has to be thrown up. Now, every time I eat differently from what I would like to, the food is treated as poison and it is extremely hard to keep it inside: not only my brain but also my body calls for bulimia. In other terms, every single inch of me has fallen into it.  

fig.3 How I trained myself to react to panic (source)


    The bottom line of this article is that I actually found the secret to not having this plague, please let me share it with you: it's to never let it in in the first place. And it starts with not restricting food intake- ever. It might be too late for me- hopefully not, but it is still something you can act on for the people you care for. Let's stop spreading silly & vain expectations that make our people sick. Let's embrace food for what it is: an enjoyable need.     

Sort:  

Congratulations @resilience-log! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Looks great and healthy! <3 @resilience-log

Mentioning doesn't really work in most STEEM apps in my experience. It probably will in the future though.

Didn't you get noticed?

Steemit.com doesn't make notices of mentions, but the mobile app esteem does. It isn't always reliable though, so this time I got a notice perhaps 30 minutes after.

Sorry about all these problems. Eating disorders are frightening. Hope you and your family will beat this!

Thanks, but don't be sorry, this is only how things are. And thanks a lot for re-steeming! @marie-jay

This is a really thorough and good first post @resilience-log! You should head over to @beanz and ask for a vote.

You should also mention your sources under the illustrations. Remember that you can edit the post.

I also suggest you #introduceyourself and don't forget to vote! If you use 20 votes per day you have the greatest influence.

How can I edit it then? -edit: I found it ;)

@marie-jay resteemed this post!

Congratulations @resilience-log! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, I am a recovered Bulimic my self, from the age of 11- 20 before I really started my recovery phase, that took a good 3 or 4 years. So it was a very long standing engrained illness to over come and I can say I honestly understand your battle.

My trigger was nothing to do with dieting or body image, that developed after, there are multiple factors that contribute to the development of an eating disorder. I have not started blogging about it yet, I want to have far more followers before I start with all of that, but it's something I will get into in great detail and how I recovered, it might interest you to follow my page. :)

Another user is trying to get a discord channel set up for recovery and addiction issues, he needs 15 comments of interest for it to be considered, if that get's active I would like to use that to engage with people who are struggling with this, I have a post with a link to his post about that group if it's something that may interest you then go and leave a comment on his post .

And also if you want to meet up in the chatroom at all id be more than willing to, sometimes just talking to someone who actually understands what it's like can make such a difference.

YOU CAN BEAT THIS. It may take some time, but you absolutely can I promise. Big hugs xx

I'd be really interested then to know how you think you've developed your ED, it's always nice to get a new angle on it, while on the way to recovery. And btw, it's nice to see you are invested in spreading wellness- I've checked your posts- and you're followed :)

Hello, sorry it's taken so long to reply I've had a busy 2 weeks no time for Steemit. In a nut shell my relationship with my mother was volatile, having later on studied psychology I understand now she had a mental illness at the time, but as a child I did not comprehend that. I was 11 years old and after an incident at home I was so angry and upset that I was physically shaking in anger and subsequently vomited by accident- just as a resuly of the overwhelming emotion. It was such a shock to my system that I had been sick that it sort of stopped the cascade of negative emotion I was experiencing. The next time I felt that way, I wanted so desperately to not feel that way I remembered that the last time it happened and I was sick that it stopped all the feelings. So this was the first time I purposefully made my self sick, to try and alleviate the emotions, and that's where the cycle began. I did not know what an eating disorder was at this point and I had never heard of bulimia. But quite quickly I realised that I could eat whatever I wanted if I was going to do this, and people started commenting on me loosing some weight and so here the body image concept crept in and the food addiction quickly followed. Within a mere few months I was in a tangle of using it to control my emotions in a situation I could not escape whilst also finding comfort in the bingeing etc. That progressed into a war with myself through all of my teenage years into my early twenties. It was a long road out, but I made it :) and I would like to help others if possible in the same situation, even if that help is just having someone to share experiences with who understands what its like.

Also, I wish I could upvote your comment- on which you've obviously worked- but for some reason it doesn't work..?

No worries I'm not here for a vote :)

Thank you so much for sharing this post. I have suffered from Anorexia Nervosa for the last 3 years and I can understand and relate to what you're going through.
Something you said caught my attention: it is so true that the body gets used to what you teach it. Lately I've fasted and restricted a lot and after a binge, or even a normal amount of food I get so sick and it surprises me every time how my body rejects the food by its own.
Good article. I hope you and your family get better eventually (I know it's hard) and remember that you're not alone!

Congratulations @resilience-log! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67058.56
ETH 3094.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64