Your cellphone is trying to kill you.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

SteemIt,

Since we're approaching the new year, I figure I'll start this post with my new year resolution...

Use my cellphone less!

And I'm happy to tell you why.

  1. Heavy cellphone use is linked to carpal tunnel syndrome, and will probably result in a massive spike in arthritis rates as the digital native generation enters their middle age. The way we hold our devices seems to be a major factor here, so try to keep your wrist straight while using your phone and reduce repetitive movements. Those types of movements as well as having your wrist bent downward put stress on the nerves and tendons in your wrist and hands, leading to carpal tunnel syndrome. Arthritis is a different beast though, and unless we figure out a way to use our hands less or not at all when dealing with our phones, this will likely be an issue later in many peoples lives no matter what. I use voice to text as much as possible because I don't want my hands to look like the poor fellow's below.

hands.jpeg

https://www.webmd.com/pain-management/carpal-tunnel/news/20170623/is-your-smartphone-giving-you-carpal-tunnel#1

  1. They are bacteria hubs! Most of this is your fault though. Habits or lack there of, such as taking your phone into the restroom, not washing your phone, or not washing your hands enough ensure that stomach churning quantities and qualities of bacteria are making your cellphone their new home. This has obvious consequences. How many time have your touched your cellphone and then ate something without washing your hands in between? Or rubbed your face and eyes after touching your phone? I don't mean to sound like your parent, but its pretty gross. Even just from every day use, your phone picks up all types of bacteria from every surface it touches. The world is dirty, you should clean your phone regularly.

http://time.com/4908654/cell-phone-bacteria/

https://science.howstuffworks.com/life/cellular-microscopic/top-10-germs-smartphone1.htm

  1. It is blinding you, according to scientists at Charotar University of Science and Technology in India. They say it can lead to cataracts and other complications. I don't know about anybody else, but my eyesight is VERY important to me. I don't know what I would do if I couldn't see the world around me. The health effects in regards to your eye don't stop with vision impairment and loss. Blue light emitted by cellphones can fool your brain into thinking it is day time, any time. This can effect your circadian rhythm and disrupt your sleep cycle. I'm not getting into the negative effects of lack of sleep on this post, or I won't get enough sleep tonight.

A blue light filter should prevent or at least help with cell phone insomnia. However the eye damage aspect seems to be more about radiation and frequency, and not light exposure.. Either way I keep all my devices at minimum brightness at all times.

https://www.rfsafe.com/study-cell-phone-radiation-can-damage-eyes-cause-early-cataracts/

  1. Cell phones may enhance risk of certain types of cancers, particularly brain cancer given their proximity to our heads in most situations. It's not hard to imagine why in this case, radiation and sensitive tissues typically don't mix. Theres still a lot of speculation and not everybody agrees on the 'facts' on this one. Definitely look into it on your own and make an educated decision. I for one, don't believe the FDA, FCC, CDC, or any of those other alphabet soup mother fuckers. My recommendation, use speaker phone when taking phone calls as much as possible, and keep it as far way from your head as you can.

https://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancer-causes/radiation-exposure/cellular-phones.html

  1. It could ruin your back. I won't source this one, we've all seen it. If you're not mindful of the way you carry your body, you could end up with what some people refer to as 'tablet neck' or 'text neck'. This is from tilting your head and neck downward to look at devices for hours on end, gradually shifting the shape of your neck. Talk about incredibly painful... Prevent this by keeping devices at eye level as much as possible. Get a short chair so your laptop on your desk is at eye level. Hold your phone at eye level, etc... If you're already there, there are some good exercises to correct this, it's not permanent. Also, maybe see a chiropractor.

I could keep going but it's getting late and I should follow my own advice and get off this device. I hope this reaches all of you well, and encourages you to be mindful about how your device is effecting your body, for your own sake. In an increasingly digital and electronic world, taking care of our bodies is more important than ever, because it's easier than ever to neglect them.

Stay safe and stay healthy. I'll see you next year.

Sort:  

Important things to think about! I noticed my sleep greatly improved once I put a blue light filter on both my computer and my cell phone. Hadn't thought of some of the other things on this list......perhaps I should go wash my cell phone case....

Thank you for your comment ilaena.
Definitely wash your cellphone haha. Just be careful not to damage it.
Happy New Year!

Congratulations @redlotus! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @redlotus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @redlotus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47