Health Update - Fibromyalgia

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I Don't Know How Much I Weigh!

All I Care About Is My Health and I Can Fit Into My 501 Jeans!

I was born in 1960 and I think my health issues started with my first vaccinations. My mom said I had violent reactions to my MMR shots. My Dad died from cancer when I was almost 5 years old and my Mom married dysfunctional men who liked to drink and one of my step-fathers also like to molest little girls. For as long as I can remember I've had immune dysfunction from asthma to sensitivity to medications and foods. Over the years trying to work with our medical system I gave up trying the prescribed method of finding health and balance in my life. I almost died and went crazy trying to find health taking pills and drugs to find my health and a stable amount of energy to be able to function in this society. One of the symptoms of Fibro is extreme fatigue and I had 4 young children to raise, a job, and a 100 acre farm to care for along with a very demanding husband.

Back in 1997, I was suffering from panic attacks, compulsive eating habits, physical pain, overwhelming fatigue, migraines, bladder and kidney infections, night terrors, and dysfunctional relationships with my family and now ex husband.

I realized no one was going to help me find peace and happiness except me. First I started cleaning up my diet. I was at that time very allergic to grass pollen. I wondered if I was also allergic to grass related products like wheat and sugar. I dropped both and within two weeks felt better and dropped 5lbs, started long distance running and my asthma disappeared within the year.

I continued eliminating refined and fast foods and anything with sugar, watching how my body reacted and ended up eating a organic plant based diet with small portions of starched based food and red meat. I've saved a ton of money dropping my medications along the way.

Over the years I started eating refined wheat and sugar again, culminating in my organic wine making experiment. I ended up getting very sick including gallbladder attacks and going through menopause I was in hell. I was eating organic, mostly food I grew myself and I was sicker than ever. Then I remembered way back in 1997 dropping sugar and wheat, over the years I had slowly forgotten my insight. So I gave away my wine making kit and stopped eating sugar and wheat. I lost 50lbs and my body has found balance after going through pre-menopause, which can be hellish for many women. I think it's hard because our Western Diet is so screwed up! I don't need to eat a lot of food and even with the high price of organic food and free range beef, on a limited income I eat very well. My calorie intake is around 1200-1600 calories a day. I am 5'6 in height and medium framed body.

My diet is easy, eat in moderation, eat organic whole foods, and drink clean water.

2017, Reached Stable Health and Weight since 2015

2012, Fat on Homemade Organic Wine!

I Walk 4 Miles Every Day Ran Or Shine!

The only time I don't walk is when thunderstorms roll in here in Oklahoma. I try and walk around nature, rest my eyes on green plants and distant horizons. After working on details all day, letting my eyes rest feels really good! I found moderate exercise stabilizes my bodies ability to burn calories and eliminate waste efficiently. I also found walking lifts my mood, I have less pain and more energy if I walk in the morning and sleep better if I walk in the evening. My husband walks with me in the evening. He is a evening person and I am a morning person. Somehow we've learned to get along even though we are as different as night and day.

I walked away from negative dysfunctional relationships. Back in the early 1990s I was diagnosed with PTSD from childhood abuse and living with my husband an abusive blackout alcoholic ex-Vietnam Vet. I stayed with him for 15 years but left after he stopped drinking but didn't stop with his abusive behavior towards me. I also left my family because the reason I was struggling with dysfunctional relationships was most of my family had been raised to socialize with abusive authority and scapegoating others for relief and hiding their dysfunction.

Meditation and the practice of Buddhist morals taught me how to be a decent human being with good boundaries. I found that being raised by people who enable abuse for the benefit of themselves are not healthy to be around. No matter how hard I tried to practice compassion and patience I felt my energy being drained as if I was living with vampires sucking on my blood a little bit a day, day in day out until I was anemic and listless. When I left my family I felt so much relief, no more subtle put-downs or cutting remarks to make them feel better and make me feel like crap.

Vipassana Meditation Helped Me Save My Life.

Buddhist values gave me a framework to build a new life and live in peace within a society that values endless consuming of products, relationships and profiting from others suffering.

Generosity - giving help and benefit to other living beings

Morality - live an ethical life

Renunciation - renounce worldly pleasures

Wisdom - achieve a right understanding of life and the world

Energy - persistent effort and not being discouraged by failures

Patience - patiently accept life’s ups and downs

Truthfulness - honesty and truthfulness in all things

Determination - unwavering determination to progress on the path

Loving-kindness - show benevolence and compassion to all things

Equanimity - develop a perfect mental equilibrium.

Hope your week is productive Steemians!

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

my wife also has PTSD and FM i wrote how we helped with he FM
https://steemit.com/health/@mytips/how-i-helped-my-wife-s-fibromyalgia

I will check out your link 🙏

The correlation of stressful life and hard times with that of bad food choice is always strong and it easily turns into a vicious cycle. I can relate to this a lot. What is interesting is that usually when we solve our eating habits we get the energy to take care of other problems that are keeping us down.

I think most humans can relate, we all suffer from self harm when we over react to negativity. Thank you @dandesign86!

you did great thing and one main thing for your health success is you keeping away from negative vibes and stay with positive thinking. meditation is really good for everyone, its learn lot of thing for stay happy and calm in life. for weight its really important thing is what you eat because most of person dont know what nutritious we need and how much but with all this you did great and made success. as you mention you are born in 1960 so according to it you should now 57 but from photo you not look that kind of all. very wonderful success story.

Thank you @birjudanak, I am glad everything worked out well with your account and I will help you build back your reputation!

Thank you so much my friend

proud to have so powerful mom like u 😍 you are soo brave that u eliminated all your deseases without anyones helps with all your own and without your main father not step and a very demanding husband omg seriously your name should be written with gold you are inspiration for all other woman struggling in many countries alll over the world again soo proud of you such a difficult past you got and u changed it with your braveness willpower 😍😍😍😍

Thank you @hassanabid, I think this is why we are all here on earth. This place is like a giant school, we all need to learn how to be good human beings, to grow up and take responsibility for our lives. I hope you can come with me on our life journey towards good health!

sure :) <3 welcome :)

you are absolutely right we all are here for that on earth we are students in a school and we all need to learn ! like you have done that :) and you graduated with great efforts and healthy life :)

You have the same age of my mom red hehehe, wow you change is really awesome and i like it when you are fat your health is poor. Regards dear red

Yes I know @dim753, you are the age of my youngest child. I feel very protective towards all you young ones. Right now the world is incredibly dysfunctional, a small class of people cause us chaos so they can profit from our suffering. We need to start getting along with our selves and with others so these abusive power stuctures starve to death!

Hey @reddust mam...
I really like and respect your ideas...
Wow...I think you are one of better and tallentaed lady in this platform...
Wel done...
Upvoted...
Cheers~~~~

You have so much to be proud of @reddust, from a healthy lovely self to a strong happy heart and life - all that you've created! meditation is some powerful medicine for sure as is a courageous human spirt such as yours.

Thank you @natureofbeing, one of my main practice whilst living in Chicago was Medicine Buddha, the teaching was given to me by Khenpo Sonam of the Riwoche. Depending on the intention of practitioner the methods given can be used as medicine or it can be poison .... sigh

I'm hoping that what you were taught served as medicine?!!!

Sonam is a traditional teacher and tests his prospective students by putting them in difficult situations and watches them jump. He looks like such a kind loving grandpa, but his kindness is like a surgeon's knife...

I learned a lot and working with this humble man, learned a lot about myself and the world around me....he humbled me ;-) <3

I took the medicine, it was bitter but good for me.

ah ok, I understand ;-)

You are what you eat.

Wonderful post @reddust nice health updates,good health and healthy food need for everybody ,its very important of us .thanks for good share

Without our health the world is a very sad place. If we take responsibility for our choices the world will become healthy!

thank you for sharing this @reddust. the world can be a messed up place, toxic relationships, toxic food, toxic environment messes up our health and our life.

you are fortunate to have found a path out of the darkness and back to living. thanks for sharing your story so that others can see a way out too.

The world has always been toxic when individuals make toxic choices. The world will start healing when we start healing ourselves and our relationships, leaving abuse and manipulation behind and walking free of fear and dysfunction. Thank you @watertoncafe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63478.31
ETH 2604.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83