You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Internet, Chat-Room, Social Media(Steemit) Addiction

in #health7 years ago

@i-am-mark and @techslut I figured you guys may find these studies interesting.

https://www.nngroup.com/articles/f-shaped-pattern-reading-web-content/

https://hbr.org/2012/01/the-business-case-for-reading

https://mic.com/articles/99408/science-has-great-news-for-people-who-read-actual-books#.aFmcbNld1

These links are not to prove a point, but rather for you guys to have an open mind about the topic. If you believe in your heart that reading on the internet is better for you than actual books, you are certainly entitled to your opinion as is everyone in this world.

Sort:  

for me videos are better,,, I get more content quicker than reading,,, I like reading if i'm diving into technical stuff so that there is plenty of time to reflect and go over things,,, possibly again and again. I find many books overly verbose,,,, like I feel I could cut their word usage to 1/5th and still get all the meaning across.... but to each his own..... I basically only read books for technical learning. I never read for "pleasure",,, not my cup of tea.

Videos are too slow for my brain. I need to read.

LOL - my brain is too slow (unless I drop some acid - lol),,, and its very visual and loves to devour information...... so I'm "slow" but not completely ignorant! Here's to the Slow People !!!!!

So you're not so much slow, as visual. I am a text person. It's why I don't vlog.

no I'm slow (your too generous, thanx),,, it takes me a good day to process stuff that people I consider "really smart" can do on the fly or in an hour,,,, but I usually come up with a good analysis...... lol --- of course "smart" is a very subjective term....

It's not about the MEDIUM it's about the CONTENT. But I will read the links attached.

Also, where does kindle fall there? :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83