Emergency First Aid certification... and then an emergency

in #health7 years ago

I got my Emergency First Aid certification from the Canadian Red Cross on Friday. Somewhat shaky on the material I've just learned. My mother's mom is 1 child of 22. This is irrelevant to the story but astounding. My grandma, my great aunt and my best aunt have been drinking and smoking pretty much all Saturday. They all came to my mom's house and I will coincidentally there. My great aunt had to walk to my aunt's across the street and up 33 stairs, barely capable of standing up. I'm a sturdy 20 year old guy so I walked her there and up all of the stairs. They offered me a beer to stay at the table with. I come from a massive family with a lot of secrets... I was staying to drink that beer! After we all chatted for several hours I went back to my mom's, they all slept there.

In the morning, the ambulance was walking up my aunt's stairs. My mom said run over and check it out. My great aunt's heart had stopped beating, she was conscious when I arrived. My aunt and nan were horrified. They went into shock. The ambulance left with my great aunt.

First aid training was a critical factor in a family of my caliber and if there is anything you should be educating other people of is the significance of taking one day to learn all of the protocols and information. I will be looking further into first aid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45