Tramadol, the new king of drugs in Punjab??

in #health6 years ago (edited)


My last visit to Tarn Taran, Punjab was pleasant one for my family but me. My aunt lives there. We reached there in the night. Next day, like most of the time I went to play football with my cousin. He plays for his college, I just play it for fun. We met some school boys of 7th and 8th grade. They were talking about some elder boy that how cool he is and a kind of drug that he takes. I didn't pay much attention and we played football. The boys were very good.

After the match, we met a close friend of my cousin. He was addicted to drugs, so called Chitta that has ruined my colorful Punjab. My cousin explained me that his younger brother is also a drug user, rather he was the one who used the drugs before. As an elder brother, he was supposed to stop his brother but instead he is also taking some now. I was shocked to know such a state of the boys in my region. His friend than told me that most of the boys that I was playing with has taken drugs. They also sell drugs, another shock! So, I asked him, what they sell. He told me these days Tramadol has high demand.

Tramadol is a pain killer used to help relieve moderate to moderately severe pain.

Tramadol cannot be sold without doctor's prescription. So, it is sold illegally. A Strip of Tramadol costs 40 Rupees in India. But due to its narcotic nature which make the person taking it excessively addicted to it, it is being sold at 100 Rupees in the region. Most of the college boys and even school boys take 2-3 pills and then roam around the city. So school boys of hardly 12-14 years old are doing business of selling drugs. I was curious why nobody has caught them and the answer??

They were caught but police released them for 20-30%% commission in the profit. Now it is a racket. I asked further if any politician was involved. There was no answer. He was scared to answer this question. He then had to go and many of my questions remained unanswered. I asked my cousin, don't their parents do anything. He told me that some of them know and some don't. Those who know try to hide it from society instead of accepting the fact and treating their sons. Many are leaving the region.

All these things are known to most of the people in the region. The thefts in the region are also increasing. Because the users need money somehow. There are not much jobs in the region, so these kinds of criminal activities will keep increasing. This region is my birth place. I studied here till High School. Due to unavailability of jobs I had to shift to a metro city. But I still feel the pain of my region. Maybe someday I would be able to bring some change here. For now, its life threatening to even talk about these things. Still I am sharing it as an experience that had recently. Now I will end my experience with a line from Gurdass Mann

Rangla Punjab Mera Kala Ho Gya!
Translation - My Colorful Punjab is dark now!!


Check out the following article for arbitrage opportunity in India. https://steemit.com/crypto/@quantumthinker/calculating-ethereum-arbitrage-profit-as-an-indian-user

Follow for more articles @quantumthinker.

Sort:  

Congratulations @quantumthinker! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @quantumthinker! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29