A New Minion Has Come To My Fold and It's Your Turn

in #health8 years ago

I had registered for the Carlsbad Half Marathon back in November. I have done the marathon for the last three years but did not feel I was in shape to try it this year. But I knew, no matter how fluffy I got, I could man-through a half marathon. We week before the race, I decided to throw a surprise at Josie (my girlfriend). I registered her for the race. Now she had never run a half marathon before and was not in shape for the race. But I knew she would be able to complete it (our hikes average ten miles and are always hilly) and I knew she would not say "no" after paid her fee. I also knew she always wanted to do one. So I waited until I was sure she was in a good mood and sprung it on her. After about seven minutes of resistance, she decided to go for it.

This post was going to be about the adventure of Josie running her first half marathon. About the joy and pain that cycles through every run. But, at about mile nine of the race, I decided to see if I could convince my readers to try it. Over the last six years, I have trained over twenty people through their first half or full marathon (I had two people in this race). I have always preached the benefits. I have rarely not succeeded.

So, in this post, I am going to give the thirteen reasons to run 13 miles.

First reason is for "you-time". Training for a half marathon is not difficult but must be done. I do not look at training as a second job but a time to shut out the day and the things around that stress me out. The pumping of endorphins also gives the runner a very pleasant high after the run.

I did not see a mile two or mile three sign, but this is the second mile of the Carlsbad race. The second reason is that you can eat more. Running burns 120 to 150 calories a mile. With all that extra exercise, one should not feel guilty taking in a few extra calories at meals (to a point, mind you). Bon Apetit!

The above picture is around mile three. And it is perfect for the third reason. Most often, you will see something that takes your breath away (or is just weird). I have seen wildlife I would have never seen in a care and views that nature creates much like the picture above. I just have to keep my head up and look.

The fourth reason is you will meet people. I have always met people while on my runs. I am a social butterfly so it is easy for me. In a race (at least in the beginning) people are happy and friendly and ready to share their experiences with you. The longer the race, the deeper the seed of friendship. I have made more than one running partner just talking to people on a run.

Reason five is getting new clothes for the race. The greatest motivating factor in convincing someone to race is the new clothes they can buy for the race. And not just something drab but something loud and bright. Something that will really make that person feel happy.

Josie bought some new tights and a shirt. Though the tights do not look too loud, for Josie, they are. I have been known to wear a kilt.

Reason six is the week of the race. I know I get excited and will tell everyone about the race. People really do cheer you on and wish you the best. I will get text messages, phone calls and Facebook posts throughout the week wishing me luck. Though I can get a little shy, I eat it all up.

The seventh reason is packet pick up and the running expos the day before the race. I find these things annoying at first, but also find myself staying at the expos for more than an hour when I get there.

We get all our crap: numbers, T-shirts, jackets and sample food. The expo has all sorts of new running stuff on display. Very over priced but a lot of energy with all the people there. And everyone is excited about the next morning.

The eighth reason is the T-shirts and jackets. It is always exciting to see the new articles of clothing you get proclaiming your accomplishments. And I am prouder still to wear them as soon as I finish (so much so, Josie buys me shirts so I have something else to wear other than my running shirts.

Gear can include T-shirts, jackets and running bags. One word of warning: nothing can be worse luck than to wear a race finisher T-shirt when you have not run the race. Finish the race first THEN wear the shirt.

The ninth reason is race day. I have never had to have an alarm to wake me up on race day. It is like my mind is ready to go a few hours before the race. I will wake up, take a shower and make sure I have all I need. I then stop and pick up some coffee and a bagel. When I get to the starting line, I usually walk around and look for someone I know to talk to (I always seem to find someone I know). Even if it is cold, you can feel the excitement in the air, which warms me. Waiting for the start is the longest part of the day. The anticipation is a killer.

The tenth reason is the start. The Star Spangled banner, the smell of Ben Gay, the site of runners hopping up and down in warm up and, then, the sound of the starters pistol going off and the roar of the crowd as it starts inching forward. Nothing like it.

I have always said that mile 11 represents the sexiest legs in racing. And that's the eleventh reason. A lot of beautiful people around and all wearing tights or short shorts. I had Josie this weekend and she looks good in tights. Roaming eyes give me motivation to get to that next mile.

Reason twelve is to REALLY get to know your friends. Nothing brings someone's true self out like pain and sweat. I learned something about Josie this weekend. And I knew to stay away. I also learned how tough and motivated she is which made me love her even more.

The thirteenth reason is the last mile. You have had twelve miles of doubt and anguish. I am sure there were several times that one has thought about stopping. But you move on. And when you see that last mile marker, you know: you're going to finish. Even if you walk or crawl, you will cross that line.

The last reason (and, yes, I lied. I'm giving fourteen reasons) is the finish. Nothing like it. The heaviness of the legs. The ability to sit. The free banana you get. The first sip of victory beer. The chance to share your experience and put on your finisher shirt. This victory, no matter what place you finished, will follow you for weeks to come.

Congratulations to those who finished and for those who are going to do it!

Visit my site at http://www.reallysorefeet.com

Starting line picture courtesy of carlsbadmarathon.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39