Tough Mudder!!! Continuing my weight loss journey Part 4

in #health6 years ago

   Last Post I talked about my first start to weight lifting in my weight loss journey. I had lost 15lbs in about 2 months but hadn’t lifted. I lost and additional 10lbs in the first two weeks of my lifting plan.  To read any of the previous posts check out Part 1, Part 2, or Part 3. This post I will discuss the progression of my weight lifting and my first Tough Mudder.   
So, as I had discussed previously my weight lifting consisted of these workouts.
Monday, Wednesday, Friday
Smith Machine Bench Press
Assisted Dip Machine
Situps 

Tuesday, Thursday
Lat Pull Down
Sitting Rows
Shoulder Press
Assisted Pullup Machine
Situps  

As I grew in strength and knowledge with my body I started to realize I needed to change things up and build more of the stabilizing muscles as you can read above it was primarily machines. This is what lifts I ended up building up to and changing over to.  

Monday, Wednesday, Friday
DB Bench Press
Dip Bar
Situps
Tuesday, Thursday
Lat Pull Down
Sitting Rows
DB Shoulder Press
Pullups
Situps  
Now when I transitioned to these new workouts I had to start at lower weight in order to build up those stabilizing muscles. Like I mentioned previously the progression was 4 sets and reps of 12,8,6,4 progressing 10lbs each.

Prior to my first Tough Mudder I was able to lift these max weights/reps and run.
 DB Bench Press  45lbs per hand
Dip Bar   12 dips unassisted
Situps 30 reps 

 Lat Pull Down  120lbs
Sitting Rows   120lbs
DB Shoulder Press    40lbs
Pullups     3 reps
Situps    30 reps
 9 miles straight.   

My Tough Mudder was at Snow Summit in California. It was high altitude and I was worried about running 13 miles plus all the obstacles. I had 6 members of my team to run with and help me. It would take really long to describe everything so just going to give a brief overview.   

Race started we had to jog/run up a very large ski run.
    We than had to jump into a spa full of ice and swim under it fully immersing our bodies in ice which freaked me out I went so numb I had to fight to just make it out as I lost the use of arms immediately. I just sort of flopped out on the ground and tried to survive.   Next part of the race had to run up another steep hill and then crawl in mud under barbed wire. We than ran down a hill had to pick up a heavy log and carry it up the hill and then back down.
   We than had to crawl through a random dark underground maze type deal before running up another steep hill. We than came a tower over a lake and had to climb up and jump off the tower to swim across. We than had to balance on two ropes across the water. We had to run down a long hill to run up a half pipe slick with water.  I barely made it up my team pulled me up to the top. We than had to walk up a hill that was so incredibly steep it wasn’t possible to run up it.
        Once we reached the top it was a quick run to a slide that went into a water reservoir. Another couple obstacles which involved jumping in water because I couldn’t do the greased monkey bars haha. Than I saw the final obstacle it was a string of live electric wires and right before running through them water sprays in your face. I was shocked several times but manages to make it through successful without falling.  

 I felt elated and accomplished but my fitness journey was just beginning. More to come.

  

Sort:  

Good luck to you. I gotta get in the mud myself one of these days.

Thank you and yes you should definitely try it. As you will see this has been a journey. I actually have completed 3 and will be continuing to tell my story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88