Needles or Tablets, a Difficult Choice

in #health6 years ago

I was diagnose a diabetic type 2 a few years ago. I have been taking different oral medications and some seemed to work. Trying to control it is hard. We try different meds and if it does not work within 3 mos we try another and change dosage. I was the one who requested my doctor for oral medication because I did not want to be insulin dependent and I am not sure if I could inject myself. Now, I am a nurse and know how to inject, but still I am uncertain or nervous haha..

28694387_10155893897995280_1793721684_o.jpg
28642894_10155893901085280_1725290653_o.jpg
28641187_10155893898770280_204693216_o.jpg

These are all my gadgets and lancets I have. These strips are expensive, I am lucky if they send me from abroad. lol. I was taking with my older brother or chatted with him a while ago. He is also diabetic and just had a kidney transplant because of his diabetes, one kidney was damaged and he had been having dialysis.

He said since I have been taking too many medication I should get the insulin. I am taking3 different oral medications and different dosages. He said it might damage my kidneys too.

Standard_insulin_syringe.JPG
source
They look like tiny needles and slim but I have never injected myself for anything. Even pricking my finger tips to test my sugar, I get tensed. But I guess I will have to try it so my kidneys don't get damaged.

400px-Insulin_pen.JPG

source
These are insulin pens. He said they are easier to use because it is already preset to dosage and easier to carry around. A bit more expensive but I will check.

So I plan to go have my check up instead of in May, I will go sometime in April. He told me to ask and he read that the DOH can augment some of my expenses. Will also check on that too.

The advantage is I will be taking less oral medicines and maybe it will be less expensive than my 3 medicines combined.

The disadvantage is I have to inject myself and check my sugar before meals so I can adjust the dosage. A little more hassle but maybe better. My brother said if I have to take insulin he will provide me with another glucose machine even if generic because they work the same, along with the strips. He will provide them for me. Wow I am happy for that. But still pricking my fingertips three times a day then injecting myself 1-2 times or maybe even 3 times a day, hmm I am not sure. He said he will also send lancets or needles. "sigh" Seems I have no choice, he is giving a lot of free things to use. I guess he doesn't want me to have dialysis someday.

So still I have to ask, but I think she will agree. She had wanted me to start insulin since last year but I kept holding off. I am taking approximately 250 pesos a day of medicines just for my diabetes. I have other maintenance too for other problems.

That is the problem if you are in a medical field, you think too much and worry too much. But I still have a month to decide. Will do it after my birthday haha I don't want to be sticking myself on my birthday.

Needles or tablets??? Still a difficult choice. Like saying hard or easy way? What would you choose?

Pictures are Mine Unless Indicated

Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group (STEEMITDIVERSIFY) and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Others that are good: @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @henry-gant @jerrybanfield, and @paradise-found, also the many others who have visited My posts. Pls. support them too. Thank you very much.
I am grateful for that and for everyone who has helped me and my friends.

27479920_1750911611648889_207284406_o-vert.jpg

Sort:  

Hirap talaga kapag diabetic ka. Buti n lang may brother u n nagbibugay support sau.

Go for insulin mam..its better kahit nakakatakot🙂

You can choose either of those as long as you will going to get well, but for me, I don't prefer needles.

Na experienced ko dn po mg self glucose test nung pregnant ako...ang hirap pati sa food diet...buti nag normal n sugar ko...God bless po

Whatever you choose mam i pray that it will be for the best. Stay healthy po.

needle is the best for supplying insuline in body and tablets have side effects.

Very good and interesting friend, you have a new follower, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75