Just What Is Kombucha? You May Want To Know!

in #health7 years ago

enter image description here

Kombucha may be something you have heard of but just aren't sure what it is. In this article I will help explain what it is and some of the health benefits it has.

Kombucha is a kind of probiotic drink that resembles a tea. There are many flavors that can be added to the taste.

Kombucha can be purchased or you can make it yourself. If making it, It essentially consists of a kombucha tea starter with yeast and bacteria, tea, and sugar. You then can add flavor to it. There is also no reason to be concerned about the sugar or caffeine because most of it will be used up when fermented.

How You Can Make Kombucha At Home

Purchasing bottles of kombucha at a health food store or supermarket can get pricey. It is common for people to want to make their own kombucha at home. While the process of making it may seem difficult at first, it actually not that hard to make. As stated earlier, you need to begin with the starter, which is also called an active starter culture. This is what uses bacteria and yeast and is what is needed for necessary fermentation. It is mixed with green or black tea and needs to sit for around 10 days. A culture will form on the top which you remove and save for future kombucha blends. The left over liquid is then flavored and you can drink it.

What To Flavor Kombucha With

enter image description here

If you do not add anything to the flavor of kombucha, it will have a bit of pungent flavor. Most people will want to add flavor to it. You can flavor it with anything from other flavors of tea, seasonings, herbs, cinnamon sticks, honey, mixed in fruit, oranges, and lemons.

The Kombucha Health Benefits

One of the main reasons people drink kombucha tea is because all the health benefits it has. One of the main benefits is with the nutrient you get with probitoicst. Probiotics have many benefits such as lowering cholesterol and blood pressure, fighting off colds and flu, help with irritable bowel syndrome and digestive problems. Probiotics can be a big help to those who suffer from food allergies. While there are probiotic supplements available, a more natural way of getting probiotics would be with a tea like kombucha.

Summary

Have you ever tried Kombucha? Do you make your own? Leave a comment and thanks for reading!

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Kombucha is one of my favorite beverages and I have made hundreds of batches with all original flavors. I also make Jun, which is like kombucha but is made with mate tea instead of green or black tea, and supposedly agave instead of white sugar.

I'm so glad to see your post and love that you're sharing healthy options. Glad you're here @ptmikesteem.

Thank you very much for your kind words @everlove. People are asking me to write a post about making kombucha. Would that be something you would want to write since you have so much experience. If not I will and please comment what I may miss.

Please write away!! Even if I were to someday write one, we would just compliment each other anyway. Would love to come back for a visit with you. Upvoting and following you!

Thank you, I will get to writing!

Great! Hope to connect again on such healthful matters @ptmikesteem.

I am following you also @everlove

Nice health information..thanks for sharing here..a lot of people will be benefited from it

I have a friend who brews 'bucha. The trick seems to be knowing when to bottle it and refrigerate to stop the fermentation. Some people like it sweeter so they would want to bottle it early. I prefer the tarter, dryer version which comes from bottling later.
Of all the flavors, I liked elderberry/ginger the best.

I tried my friends brew and he had added oranges, wasn't bad.

I drink Kombucha almost everyday! I love what it does for my body. It is amazing.
Unfortunately I dont make it myself. Mabey you can write a post on how to make it.
Iv'e also written a post about food and health. Please take a look and tell me what you think?
Looking forward to hearing more from you!
Great post!

Keep posting! I upvoted your post.

I can not say that it is one of my favorite teas, but it has a lot of benefits for the digestive system.

Yes, there are digestive benefits that we can all benefit from.

My sister in law drinks it pretty regularly. I would also be very interested in learning how to make it. Thanks for the information!

Ok,I think I may have to write a post about making it then.

Great. Could you give me a shout here once you have it posted?

It was very popular among my friends 10-15 years ago, probably was in almost every house :)

I think the big reason you don't here it much is because of the popularity of teas like green tea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76