Watermelon Smoothie

in #health6 years ago

During the hottest months of the year, nothing is quite as refreshing as watermelon. But not much is as disappointing as cutting open a watermelon and seeing the texture and/or flavor leaves a lot to be desired. What to do? Do you throw it out? Force yourself to eat it? How about turning it into a delicious smoothie?

watermelon.jpg

Turning the watermelon into a smoothie can solve both the texture and flavor problem. Obviously by blending the watermelon the texture is totally transformed but also blending with some additional ingredients will enhance the flavor of an otherwise sub-par watermelon.

My default for smoothies is usually to try to keep things as simple as possible, especially when it comes to melons. I'll start by loading up the blender with the cut up watermelon, then add a splash of orange juice or lemonade if the original watermelon was light on flavor. Then I'll also add some sugar to kick the sweetness up a notch (especially if I just finished a workout and need to restock on glycogen), and then some filtered water to get the desired consistency. Another idea might be to throw in a little mint.

That's it.

It makes for a super light smoothie that goes down more like juice than the typical thick smoothie consistency most think of when they hear "smoothie."

Quick, healthy, refreshing, energizing, hydrating, and of course delicious. I'll usually have it in the morning after working out as my breakfast (just make sure you make it big enough to get you to lunch) and I find it keeps me cool for several hours in the heat.

Give it a try, I think you'll enjoy it. Let me know what you think!

P_20180904_082145_cropped.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67