Helpless in the Face of Disease

in #health7 years ago


He is in a tough situation and he has canceled our last 3 appointments, including the one this morning. He needs our sessions to improve his perfomance at work, but most importantly he needs to be at his father's side during this time of fear. How can I help? This is what I sent to a client this morning.

[QUOTE]
Thank you. Call whenever you can. Feel free to schedule any "make-up classes"at your convenience. Everything is written in our agreement for this 4 week period. Don't feel any pressure. You do not have to recover the classes! It is just an option. It is completely your choice. I am awake evey day before 5am.

We can do some investigation to help your father, if you want. Or if you prefer we can leave it in the hands of the medical profession. Whatever you want to do, I respect you and your wishes.

I know that this is a frightening situation. Your father will not die because his family did not care. He will not die because nobody took him to the hospital or nobody took him to see a doctor or to get lab tests. Everyone involved--family, friends, medical professionals--is doing their best! There is no doubt in my mind about that.

------------If all of the above sounds correct to you, please do not read the part below. I do not want to insult you or make you feel worse than you may already feel during this ifficult time.----------

If you want to educate yourself more, in an effort to help your father more, you will need more information. Here is a good next step in getting more information.

If you are told that your father has a urinary tract infection. Please ask...

"Thank you, Doctor. We appreciate everyone's help here very much, I understand you have discovered that he has a "urinary tract infection". Can you tell us/me what symptoms and what test results brought you to this conclusion?​"

Whatever "label"or "name" the doctor(s) give you ask the same question above, and take notes. Seriously. How the doctors answer this question is very important so it will be a good idea for you to take notes.

For example one symptom could be painful urination. Or one test result could be urea in the blood. Whatever the symptoms and the lab test results are, write it down.

I am suggesting that with more information, more raw data, you can educate yourself (not by becoming a doctor) fairly quickly and thereby help your father regain his health. What the doctors can supply is the lab results (blood and urine) that are abnormal. They can also share other symptoms perhaps that you and your family have not noticed. With a list of symptoms and the lab test results you (or I or both of us) can do independent research online to find possible/probable causes and cures, not only mere teatments.

Human beings, including your father, can get all the amino acids/protein and calcium we need for optimal health from leafy green vegetables so ideally and PERHAPS necessarily your father will need to consume raw fruits, raw vegetables, cooked vegetables almost exclusively. Keep grains for awhile, maybe. (Grains? rice, oats, wheat). So no animal flesh, no eggs, no milk, no cheese, no icecream, no yogurt, no pizza, etc. You get the picture.

Such a diet may be a sharp contrast from what he is used to, so introduce the changes gradually....over a one week period. by introducing more good he will not have room or appetite for the bad. For example, having fresh orange juice in the morning and some beautifully prepared and presented bitsized fruit may not leave room for coffee and pan dulce or a Coke and a couple of tacos. Also eating with others who are also enjoying the same meal with him will make it more pleasant and satisfying, too.

There are so many things that can be tested in the blood and the urine. Actually these lab tests are measuring the concentration of various substances in the blood and in the urine. Hopefully today very comprehensive "lab tests"(actually measurements of various components present in the blood and in the urine) can be done. Because those measurements are really important to know.

Normally the results are presented on paper with a number (and units of measure) next to the numerical normal range of that particular measurement should fall in. This information is critical. I hope that whatevetever tests are done, you are given the results on paper so that, if you choose, further your education and perhaps the education of your family regarding what is going on with your father and how it can be corrected.

I am not suggesting you do the doctor's job. That is not necessary and that is not ideal. I am suggesting that you do not have to be at the mercy of professional doctors and at the mercy of modern medicine. However, if you think that is best to leave everything in the hands of the professionals and in the hands of the medical system, no problem. I respect you and I sincerely hope that no matter what, your father regains his health steadily and completely as soon as possible.

Personally I love dairy but I hardly ever consume it. Now I am going to avoid it 100% for the rest of the year, at least. No more paletas de leche or ice cream for me! No more cheese pizza either. I haven't eaten eggs or animal flesh for at least the last 6 months and in fact for the past several years I have probably only eaten dairy and/or animals 1 to 3 times a week on average.

Fruits and vegetables are nutrient dense, however actually eating enough to satisfy my calorie needs is not easy. So I am sure that I will be drinking a lot of my food because I PROBABLY WON'T FEEL LIKE CHEWING AND CHEWING ALL OF THOSE GREENS AND FRUIT! sorry about the all capital letters!

Have an excellent weekend. I hope you can catch up on any lost sleep. Drive safely. Enjoy your family. Best wishes to you and everyone in your family.

[END QUOTE]

good = supportive of optimal health
bad = destuctive of optimal health

Anywy, this is none of my business, but imagining what he and his family are going through, I naturally wanted to help in some way. My way was to suggest more education for him and to adopt a health supporting pattern of consumption for myself.

Right, what does my ideal consumption pattern have to do with his father?

Anyway who knows what course of action further education might come up with.

My intention was not to insult or to presume.

I sensed a feeling of helplessness and a reliance on doctors and a medical system that may not actually have all the answers. I felt sorry.

I want my client to be empowered. What can I do to help?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49