Why I parkrun

in #health7 years ago

When I started parkrun, I had never run a full 5km. I walked and run for the first time, then progressed to slowly running the 5k.

That was 3 years ago. Now I run regularly around the 26 minute mark, I am Run Director regularly, and am in the process of setting up a brand new parkrun event close to home.

The reason I continue to parkrun is the community. As an adult I have found it difficult to make friends. At parkrun the fact that you’re running a 5k at 7AM on a Saturday seems to select for happy, friendly people! I have made some great friends at parkrun, and look forward to catching up with them every Saturday.

It’s also a worldwide movement, so it’s possible that when I’m travelling for work I can find a parkrun nearby. And when I have, the same friendly people are there and for those few hours I feel like I’m part of a community again.

Parkrun, give it a go!

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42