You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 10 Common Keto Diet Mistakes

in #health7 years ago

Great and informative post. One thing though that I don't quite agree on though is the bit on protein. Rather than referring to it as too much protein, I'dd prefer to refer to it as not enough resistance training. My previous issues with keto were basically all related to losing the wrong kind of weight, lean body mass, and losing it for two reasons. Reason one you address in your post, ofcause was not getting enough salt. The second reason however was that my protein intake wasn't suficient to fully sustain my muscle mass. I know lots of people don't care that much about losing LBM as long as they are losing weight and have a shrinking weist circumverence, not losing any LBM in the process IMHO is still the prefered way to lose fat, and high (at least 1.0 g/kg LBM) protein combined with a solid weight lifting regime seems to be the best way to do that. Thus my conclusion that the more common mistake is actual a lack of resistance training rather than actually consuming too much protein.

Sort:  

Your right in that too little protein is worse for you than too much. But I think we overestimate how much protein we actually use. If you are going to eat high protein then yes you need a good way to burn it off.

When done properly, Keto is muscle sparing so I've lost very little LBM even though I don't work out. Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80