You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turning Over a New Leaf

in #health6 years ago

The most important part of my nutritional commitment to myself is eating a plant based diet. The second is short bursts of fasting, I never really do more than a day. Most days have the vague goal of not eating solid food before 12. Similar to you I'm aiming to eat a lot of leaves 🖖

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

i like that intermittent fasting myself but have to admit it is hard to do consistently

Yeah, I did a 3 day fast twice in the past, and must admit that both times I felt great afterward! For me the first day is the hardest. By day 3 I don't even want to go back to eating food again, though I know I must to be able to get back to my normal activity levels.

Those people who can go completely plant-based are very fortunate. My allergies would have me really in trouble if I did that, since I'm allergic to every source of protein other than meat and nuts, and there are only so many nuts my digestive system can handle in a day. But those times I've simply had plants DOMINATE my diet, I've definitely felt better. Trying to push the ratios as far as I can without losing muscle mass. One step at a time though. First I just have to put more greens in.

The allergies certainly add another interesting factor!

The protein thing is an interesting thing, as a narrative I still have a lot of questions about it. At first I thought protein = flesh, then going plant based I knew that I could do like a herbivore and turn plant into protein. Still I was careful to eat a lot of nuts and seeds and tofu, having spirulina shakes too (over 50% protein).

At a certain point however I started hearing that protein was in good supply in most fruits and vegetables - that on a fresh or raw diet we can still thrive. So at this point I don't take any special care to eat plant based 'protein' and I seem to be doing great.

I watch this fellow Elitom on YouTube who talks about pranic living aka breatharianisn. He says that going one step further from the cognition that plants = protein, he realised that air = protein. I feel that with that potential on my spectrum it put my diet into perspective, I see that really I eat mostly habitually and to enjoy it - nothing wrong with that though ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

There are a lot of ideas out there about what the body can get from what I think boils down to mind over matter. It goes but so far, if only because we don't have complete control over our minds. But I know experientially that all 5 times I tried for months at a time to eliminate meat from my diet I wound up extremely weak, barely able to concentrate to function in life, and really with my entire life deteriorated . I was pretty much starving myself to death. Then each time I wound up breaking down and eating some chicken, and it was as if the lights were turned back on. I think one could get enough protein without meat if they ate enough beans and rice, but I can't eat beans. And spirulina has a terrible effect on my digestive system. So I wind up really needing flesh to thrive. I'm pretty sure it's just the protein that I'm getting from it, though I understand B12 is hard to get from non-animal source. But for me, no eggs, no dairy, no beans. I call myself a vegan who eats meat instead of beans when I'm trying to explain what I can eat when someone's cooking for me.

For sure the body is quite mysterious in what it takes to run it well. I sometimes think that there are several distinct types of us, who will function better on various diets. Perhaps a 'hunter type' who fasts for long periods and eats high energy meats and fats, then perhaps a grazer who eats a lot of leaves and fruits. There's so many kinds of people with so many different needs and bodies. Overall it's trial and error that gives the best feedback isn't it. It sounds like you've run a lot of experiments on yourself to see what works and what doesn't :)

I definitely agree that mind over matter plays a big role in this whole diet thing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85