I think I caught my wife's preganacy!

in #health7 years ago

I've been feeling weird for the last month and I couldn't put my finger on it!

I started feeling really moody and tired for about a month now. I was finding myself passing out mid afternoon on the couch, which is very unlike me, usually I'm restless and high energy, constantly fiddling or puttering with something while I'm awake and I've never ever been one to nap. My schedule has been unchanged and nothing else was new. Then the moodiness started to come. I found myself grumpy and very impatient, there were days when I had to give myself a time out and go for a little walk to just regroup and recentre. I couldn't figure out why I was feeling like this.

Two weeks ago, I started finding myself getting queasy at work. (I'm a nurse and often find myself cleaning moutians of shit or other equally nasty stuff) This has never bother me before and always had quite the strong stomach, so it was wierd when I started feeling nauseous or gagging at times.

Now this week I started feeling hungry all the time! This is really a new feeling, for most of my life I've only ate supper. I used to refuse to eat entire weekends out of protest when my parents first got divorced. I've never really felt hungry like I've needed to eat, but all of sudden I'm hungry, and not just for snacks, chips or candy. I've been waking up early or staying up late and cooking real food and meals. I've never ate after my night shifts or during them but all of a sudden I'm always hungry.


Source

Anyways I was telling my wife all this the other day and she got a little smirk and suggested I have Couvade Syndrome. Which is a when a father had sympathic symptoms of pregnancy with his wife. Interesting even now while looking it up it lists things like toothaches! This is also something I've had out of nowhere in the last month. The last time my tooth acted up was over 3 years ago and I had a dental procedure to fix it! I was even at the dentist yesterday and he actually x-rayed the crap out of my head and couldn't figure out why it's acting up all of sudden, I got so fed up I'm scheduled to have the thing pulled out!!! (I think I may wait a bit now that I read more about this).


Source

It's interesting since this is her third pregnancy and I've never had anything like this before, but this is also the last one ever and I'm a bit sad since I did want more children so maybe somehow the psychological effects of that are doing something to me.

It's certainly a wierd experience I wanted to share with everyone.

Now I'm even more worried about this fitness challenge and my weight loss goals.


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Beautiful thing when you realize your energy is that connected.

Yeah, it's definitely interesting to say the least.

I had no idea such a syndrome existed but can't say I'm surprised that it does XD Maybe the third time round you're a bit too much attuned to how things are going? :D

And hey you'll be fine as unlike some pregnant people you don't have the bump to worry about ;D

goatsig

Yeah, or labour...lol. I should make it out ok. There may have been something the other times and I just didn't notice, who knows.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

You gave the pregnancy to her; she's just giving it back.

Yeah, that's one way to look at it...lol.

When I read the title I was coming to suggest Couvade's, but seems you've already found that. Certainly a strange phenomenon, and I'm kind of glad that with everything else I have issues with that I'm not suffering from it with my fiance's pregnancy.

Yeah, it took a while to put in all together, she still doesn't believe me, but it fits perfectly with all the weird things recently.

Wow, this is truly fascinating. I wonder if this ever happened with my husband. How very cool that you guys are so connected. Maybe once the baby is born, you'll be able to reach your running goals easier! ;)

Yeah, it's likely making it harder, with the constant hunger and fatigue, oh well.

As long as your belly doesn't grow at the same rate as the wife's you'll be OK.

No way, she's well ahead of me on that one...lol.

Nothing wrong with a bit of empathy for what she's going through. Very cool that is has an actual diagnosis, Couvade Syndrome. Hope the stress subsides and you can focus on preparing for what comes next!

Yeah, it's been interesting to say the least.

You guys are in more in tune now. Beautiful thing bro.

Maybe eh, she just thinks I'm nuts...lol.

The place were u took the picture is beautiful and you wife too, congrats !!

Thx, that's just the forest in our back yard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44