You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Are We Still Using Facebook?

in #health7 years ago

The problem is that some of these finding transfer to any social network usage, and you can include Steemit in that. It would be interesting to see what the difference is in social media usage and whether or not a completely alternative social media like Steemit has any balancing qualities. I hazard that it is not completely without it's similar downsides.

Sort:  

That is quite true. There is something to be said for the desire to find social interaction through a computer screen, and not in physicality, as well as the whole "scrolling your feed" issue. Certainly, options like Steemit are better in some ways, like the lack of targeting algorithms (your feed is just posts of the people you follow, in chronological order) the lack of advertising and "news" all around the sides of your screen, and the generally higher quality of content and more authenticity of communication here.

Oh man I feel WAYYY better using Steemit than FB. I see creators! I can follow them and actually see their posts! Facebook USED to make me feel amazing, now, it makes me depressed almost instantly. I used to spend 3-4 hours a day replying to messages and comments I got about my art. NOw I rarely get ANY notifications or messages about my art, and the ones I do get are from the same 3 people

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40