Live long and prosper - The end of disease, a new life style.

in #health7 years ago

Intro

Two years ago I was diagnosed as diabetic, this came as a shock.

World wide this disease is pretty much rampant, I had no idea that I had joined more than 422 million suffers.

Its a major cause of heart attacks, strokes, blindness and liver disease, causing more than a million deaths each year as a direct result.

The global cost of treatment to slow this epidemic down is in excess of $800,000,000 ( eight hundred billion US dollars) per year.

Upon diagnosis I read everything I could on the subject. There was of course the written information , the glossy leaflets given to me at the doctors surgery. (These were all sponsored on some way or another ) . I took on-line classes, primarily ones by the open university. I searched the internet for anything which sounded credible. I learnt that what I had considered a healthy lifestyle was based on evidence which was little more than opinion .

In response to this new information I changed my lifestyle.Two year later my doctor has declared that I’m cured and has asked how I did it without medication. I explained that its no secret and that hundreds of people like me have done it and are doing it by living a genuinely healthy life style. ( Not the one we have become accustomed to thinking of as healthy.)

It turns out that type 2 diabetes ( the type I have) is an extreme form of carbohydrate intolerance. Its estimated that one in 3 people in some form or another have an intolerance to carbs. If you are putting on a little extra weight. you find it difficult to loose weight, you are feeling sluggish , suffer from intestinal bloating, lack concentration or are tired and you cant shake it off you may be in this group. Its vastly undiagnosed .

Before I was diagnosed I thought I was healthy! I walked 4 miles with a beautiful black Labrador everyday, ( 10,000 steps, ) I ate masses of fruit and veg, far more than the recommended 5 portions per day. I made my own bread from the healthiest organic spelt flour. I brewed my own beer from hops I’d grown. I played tennis and I was moderate in most things . Most doctors would say I lived a very healthy life style. It was a shock to find out all this was not enough. Learning to unlearn is not an easy thing to do. My plan is to share some of these tips , thoughts , recipes and some how to’s I’ve found actual work for me . This isn’t academic belief its things I’ve tried and tested. I’ll give links to help you do your own research.

Once I considered myself as. a “foodie”. Now I now enjoy food in ways which are richer and tastier. Now I want to enjoy every mouthful, now I want food my body can assimilate without it being poison.

Below are a few links ...and the artwork is mine..... more later......

http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs312/en/

http://www.foodreactions.org/intolerance/carbohydrate/index.html

https://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/carbohydrate+intolerance

http://www.wholebodyhealth.org/health-article/carbohydrate-intolerance-a-deadly-disease/

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs40273-015-0268-9

https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/news/press-releases/diabetes-cost-825-billion-a year/

http://www.bmj.com/content/328/7438/485.2

Sort:  

diabetes have anything to do with Vitamin D ??

As far as I understand vitamin D is all about spending some time outside and let the sunshine in ....

Really nice post, this was intriguing to read

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30