Ugly images on cigarette boxes in fight against smoking- Does it help to solve the problem?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Smoking is not glamorous any more, maybe it was before. I'm a smoking addict and I'm not proud of that! I want to stop smoking, and I will certainly work on it. A new law came into force recently who orders packaging to look like this..
2017-06-19-19-30-36-967.jpg

20170620_211402.jpg

20170620_173735.jpg

20170620_211304.jpg

Do Ugly Pictures Work? My opinion not! Because addicted smokers have found a solution..... COVER

20170620_211453.jpg

In my country smoking is still allowed in many public places and in fact no sanctions are being enforced.
And statistics on the number of smokers continues to be enormous.

What do you think about it? What's your solution?

Sort:  

I remember learning in psychology A level that negative reinforcement doesn't work- they've done studies on it. Only positive reinforcement works, i.e. telling people the positive benefits they will receive if they give up smoking. One class mate asked how can a class of psychology students be more intelligent then a the government? The mind boggles!

I totally agree with you, only positive reinforcement works.

Short term speaking it wont, but long term probably. But it doesn't solve even 5% of the problem, public education, rising up taxes onto cigarettes and tobacco in general, incentives for tobacco producer to switch to other type of agriculture. There are many ways, but problem #1 is government will to do it, especially cos of tobacco lobists.

P.S. I'm also a smoker and, my friend, our #1 and only problem is power of will, also :)

The problem is that the government live well from tobacco industry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61