You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Frustrated With Life?? ... What is Happiness and How Can We Learn To Cultivate It?

in #health6 years ago

If I may quote you @metama, you said:

"Happiness is what arises when suffering is not present. It is the state of being that we are born into. It is the state of being that exists when we are not consciously suffering. It is the state of being that we are meant to be in."

Although I salute the depth of your thought to have reached this conclusion, and I also acknowledge that you experience might have a role to play in this submission, however, I doubt if majority of us will agree with you across board.
First, it is evident almost all of us were born into pain. The process of giving birth naturally illicit so much pain that we all cry into this world, though unconscious.
Secondly, it is doubtful if happiness arises at the absence of suffering. A man that is not suffering any lack or health issue may still be unhappy - unhappy about the state of the people around him for example.
Rather, I will say happiness is a state of the mind when it is experiencing some form of pleasure or the other. Note that I didn't say happiness is pleasure itself, I said it is the state of the mind. Pleasure is an experience that you so much enjoy you wish it continues and increases. It is when you are experiencing such pleasure that you feel happiness in your innermost heart. So, pleasure is inextricably linked to pleasure but they are not the same.
I love your write up and a number of issues you touch here shall be my reflective mood topic.
Thank you.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your opinion. I wanted to add my thoughts...

"Secondly, it is doubtful if happiness arises at the absence of suffering. A man that is not suffering any lack or health issue may still be unhappy - unhappy about the state of the people around him for example."

I would say that being unhappy about the state of people around oneself is suffering. We have the choice to respond to our surroundings however we like, if we are unhappy about something it is our choice to do so.

this is another great way of seeing and dealing with the topic @ojebaba. great response mate !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51