EAT MORE FAT TO LOSE WEIGHT - WHAT I EAT IN MY KETOGENIC DIET!!!

in #health7 years ago

EATING FAT TO LOSE WEIGHT

(Image Source)

As I have mentioned in some of my previous articles, I gave up on sugar a long time ago.  After studying carefuly the effects that it can have on the human body and after reading the latest research which clearly state that the over consumption of sugar is the main culprit behind the obesity epidemic, I decided to remove it almost completely from my diet.  You can read more about the effect of sugar on your body and my new nutrition here:

THE KETOGENIC DIET

THE EFFECT OF SUGAR ON THE BODY

One of the most frequent questions I get about my diet, is ''So, what do you eat?''.  In this article I will show you some pictures of the food that I eat every day in my Ketogenic diet.  For those who don't know, a Ketogenic diet, is a diet high in fat, medium in protein and very low in carbohydrates.  Currently my macronutrient percentages are the following:

  • CALORIE GOAL: 2000 kcal / day
  • FAT: 70% of calories = 155grams (5.5 ounces) - each gram of fat has 9 calories
  • PROTEIN: 25% of calories = 125g (4.4 ounces) - each gram of protein has 4 calories
  • CARBS: 5% of calories = 25g  (1 ounce) - each gram of carb has 4 calories

Most of my carbs come from salads, vegetables, full fat creme and the ocassional teaspoon of peanut butter laughing

At a first glance, this diet might seem quite extreme.  But after your body goes through the ''adjustment'' period and starts to utilize fat as a fuel, your insulin levels get normalized and you feel better than ever before. The glucose level of the body gets normalized and as a result my cravings for sweets have decreased. Most importantly, I have lost a huge amount of weight on this diet and managed to get my health back.

So without further delay, here are the pictures:

 Cheese and salami omelette, cooked in butter and served with avocado.

 

Steak with home made herb butter

 

 Paprika marinated pork steak with a poached egg, served with cucumber, letture, mayo salad

 

Chicken breast stuffed with cream and gorgonzola cheese, served with salad

 

Chicken drumsticks with teryaki sauce

 

''Keto cupcakes'' with ham, eggs, jalapeno peppers, cheddar cheese and salami

 

''Keto snack'' - smoked salmon, feta cheese and cucumber

 

Chicken quarter baked with herbs and served with salad and pickled peppers

 

The greek Frappe - ice coffee with full fat cream

 

Beef burger with 25% fat content, cheddar cheese, wrapped in lettuce

 

Breakfast ''cupcakes'' - Mordatella, filled with salami, cheese, peppers and an egg on top, covered with homemade lemon hollandaise sauce - BEST BREAKFAST EVER!!!

 

If you liked this article, let me know and I will make sure to post more about the food I eat, the recipes and the diet I follow!!

 

Sort:  

fabulous! everything looks delish! Goodbye carbs! (Well, I'm having some carbs tonight, so...tomorrow!)

Thanks @gardenlady!! Carbs taste good...removing them from my diet was hard, especially pasta which I love...But losing weight had to come first. At first it's difficult, but once your body gets used to burning fat as fuel, it becomes so much easier. But a few carbs every now and then, never hurt anyone :)

I like your post and agree with you about sugar. I do not count calories to much and I have just one meal a day and also some potato or pasta. It work good for me that way. More spare time, less food preparing, less kilograms.

For my diet, I also had to remove pasta and potatoes..but I was extremely overweight when I did that. But making a start with just removing the extra sugar is still good. Now I eat two meals a day. A big breakfast and dinner around 6pm. That's how it works for me. I find it impossible to follow the 'eat 5 times per day' recommendation.

To lose weight eat less calories. To lose fat rather than muscle, eat less calories but eat high omega 3 fat and high protein with low carb.

You don't have to be ketogenic unless you want to lose it quickly. Please track your progress for us by revealing the body fat percentage changes from week to week?

You are right! Creating a caloric deficit is a must for any diet. How quickly the weight comes off will depend on how big that deficit is. I ll try to keep the blog updated with body measurements and the foods I eat

How about a recipe for that Greek Frappe?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62