Bajai Boot Camp 6: Running Session Part VII

in #health8 years ago

Today makes a week since I started my running project; 30 days of running. It’s back to the gig today so up at 0400 and doing the AMX (AM exercise). 

The legs feel amazing. Despite a late evening squats workout there is no soreness in the muscles and no pain in the joints. I think the body has come to realize that this is going to be what we’re doing and there’s no need to whine about it. 

On work days my second “workout” is the 8 minute walk to the train station and then a sprint up the steps, whether the train is coming or not. I was quicker and more energetic during the walk and I feel as if I almost floated up the steps. When it comes to stretching my legs I find them to be more flexible and pliable. There’s still resistance in the hip flexors, but that’s a continuous work in progress. 

Bottom line is; within a week I am experiencing positive results, (I consider soreness a positive result as well.) 

After the gig today I intend to make it my fourth running day in a row. I don’t envision anything stopping me; not mentally anyway. I’m very psyched to get on the slab today. 

I get home from the gig today and there are roofers roofing the neighbor's roof. That means boiling tar, which means a headache for me. The smell was really bringing me down. It was just sapping my energy. So I went to fuel up and get my mind straight... it only took half a cup of tea and the realization that I should get out to the park and away from the tar-smell. 

I'd hoped to boost my mileage today, but as soon as I hit the slab, I knew I was off pace. I'd forgotten about that 2.5 mile walk to the squat workout client last night. I guess I wasn't fully recovered. But as declared earlier, I have to get to a point where I can walk, run, climb, pull and lift, in a single 24 (or less) hour period.

I finished the run in 30 minutes, which is longer than the first run of this series. As punishment, or compensation - or something - for the slow pace, I decided to walk an extra mile. This actually re-energized me and I was pretty good by the end. Not that I felt I could go any further. The camera shake is either from being more exhausted than I think, or holding the "camera" with my least dominant hand. 

This was day 7, run 6.. puts me at 87%... I have 12 miles under my feet.. not counting the walk-off... not sure I should. It's a running session, not about accumulating mileage. 

At some point my weight is going to bottom out. I'm thinking no lower than 170 lbs. This is where I was when I graduated art school.. I was a kid then... I'm a grown-up now. I need to have some weight on me. I know this running binge will affect my strength under the iron - but what I think I'll do when I complete the running session is go Body Weight Work for a while and then go back to weight lifting when and if possible. 

Okay, rather lengthy this time. Any advice or suggestions, drop a comment. 


Stay Tuned for Part VIII



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44