Feel Like Making A Donation This Weekend? Then Consider Donating Your Brain, To Science!

in #health7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

That was the appeal I read which scientists have made, as it seems the research into brain disorders have almost come to a standstill because they do not have enough "brains" of individuals with disorders to work with!

This made me think of a story that keeps coming up on one of my favorite shows.

mini brain balls.png

According to the article

The mini-brains, which can be personalized based on whose cells they’re made from, may soon help scientists study a wide variety of diseases and health problems—from autism and Parkinson’s to multiple sclerosis and Alzheimer’s, as well as stroke, brain trauma, and infections, such as Zika virus.

I doubt it would be a replacement for used brains, still need the donations, but it does make me wonder of the possible uses for such things as "teeny brain balls".

Interesting! Thanks for the links.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I signed my donor card nearly 20 years ago. I have to make sure that it's still active -- but I don't see why not as it's on my license, right? This might also be a good reminder for people to write down their final wishes.

So, for the record - all of my usable parts are to be donated. The rest is to be cremated and sprinkled in the Gulf. No ceremony. I do expect a big BBQ so my friends and family can have a good time. :)

Congratulations! You may be surprised to know that only a minuscule percentage of people in this world are up for donating their bodies and organs posthumously, as most seem to believe that they need to be cremated "intact" if they are to reach heaven!

I'd recently read a Steemit article about organ donations. There are countries that, by default, use the healthy organs and one literally has to sign something for a deferment to remove one's self from the donate list - whereas in the US it's the other way around. I thought that was pretty interesting -- and a very good way to solve/lessen the donor shortage if we ever implemented that.

It was tried here in India but there was a huge uproar by the religious fanatics which shot it down! But the worst part here is a problem which is unique, the relatives of the deceased get into a emotional frenzy and do not allow the body to be taken for organ harvesting, and cremate the body, without giving two hoots to the wishes of the deceased donor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05