Weight loss journey #1 - Intermittent fasting and meal prep

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Inital weight: 310lbs
Initial body fat: 36% (Damn)
Initial waist circumference: 40 inches (jesuz)

This was 2 months ago, I've been slowly transitioning with a diet, now I'm ready to go full steam.

If any of you are trying to lose weight, gain muscle, or just be active. Follow my ass, I'll follow your ass, and we can motivate each other's asses for the next few months.

So let's start somewhere...

I've always been a pretty active guy. Soccer up to my teens, then I grew tall - switched to basketball and Muay Thai all the way up to my twenties. Those alone were enough to keep me in top shape. Happy mentally, somewhat happy physically - I've had some GI issues my whole life I'll touch up on those in a different set of posts.
Anyways, starting University took a toll on me, I stopped my activities, got a little depressed (pretty common for a university student) gained a little weight - ok a lot of weight... 80 lbs...for a grand total of 310lbs. I'm 6,4 so I hide it sort of well...but for a point in my life I weighed as much as a lioness.
I've taken it upon myself to take my health back into my own hands, starting with the elephant in the room.. my weight.

I'm going to be using 3 main techniques here.

Intermittent fasting

I'll be using the 16:8 method, where I will fast for 16 hours and have my food from 12pm to 8pm. It's really not that bad. I get up for work, skip breakfast for a black coffee or green tea and by the time I know it, it's lunch.
I finish work, go home, have some dinner around 7 and a snack or something small if I'm still hungry at 8.
Et voila mes amis.
The premise of intermittent fasting, is to give your body time to work on other things, those 16 hours allow it so your body doesn't have to work on digesting your food all day long, it has time to do some other maintenance.

Meal prep

I will be doing meal prep, for Monday Tuesday Wednesday - since Thursday my work crew and I go for lunch (ill eat healthy shit yes yes) and Friday my work has a BBQ (I have the option of eating just meat and salad, perfect) and on the weekend Ill have time to cook myself and my girlfriend some food daily.

Here are some meals I prepared for this week.
IMG_20170301_214557.jpg

Sausages, stir fry, roast beef for protein.
Sweet potato salad, asparagus and beet salad for veggies.
Some eggs and avocados for snacks.

Meal prep should allow me to always have food ready, keep from being too hungry and preventing from any momentary lapses in judgement where I hit up the convenience store like I used to with my buddies in high school after being high off our trees.

Weight lifting

I'll be lifting weights to increase my metabolism, keep my muscles and heart healthy and lose weight. The benefits of weight lifting are numerous, one being that your body burns calories just by resting, because it is repairing muscle (the afterburn effect). Also an increase in muscle mass increases your metabolism. So even more calories burned at rest.
IMG_20170515_095753.jpg

I'm just getting started, I'll be posting meal prep tips, measurements, and whatever weird things come into my head during this journey. My ultimate hope, is that I can help not only myself, but some of you in achieving your goals!

Lez go ;)

Sort:  

Looks delicious ! send me one of your little trays please =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85